Home English English Musician

Jan Garbarek

English Musician Jan Garbarek
Written By - Team Nettv4u

Jan Garbarek is a Norwegian Jazz Saxophonist and is active in classical music and world music. He was born on 4 March 1947 in Mysen, Ostfold, Norway. His father was Czeslaw Garbarek and his wife is Vigdis Garbarek. His child's name is Anja Garbarek who is also a musician and a composer. He started his recording career in late 1960 when he worked with American jazz composer George Russell. Garbarek won wider popularity thru his work with pianist Keith Jarrett's European Quartet which released the albums Belonging (1974), My song (1977), and the live recordings personal Mountains (1979), and Nude Ants (1979). He was also a featured soloist in Luminessence (1974) and Arbour Zena (1975), Jarrett's orchestral works.

As a composer, Garbarek tends to draw closely from Scandinavian folks' melodies, a legacy of his Ayler has an impact. He is likewise a pioneer of ambient jazz composition, maximum notably on his 1976 album Dis a collaboration with guitarist Ralph Towner, that featured the extraordinary sound of a wind harp on numerous tracks. in the 1980s, Garbarek's tune commenced to comprise synthesizers and elements of the global track. He has collaborated with Indian & Pakistani musicians consisting including Trilok Gurtu, Zakir Hussain, Hariprasad Chaurasia, and Bade Fateh Ali Khan.

Garbarek is credited for composing the original music for the film Kippur. In 1994, during the heightened popularity of Gregorian chant, his album Officium, a collaboration with early song vocal performers the Hilliard Ensemble, became one every of ECM's biggest-promoting albums of all time, achieving the pop charts in numerous European nations and turned into followed by a sequel, Mnemosyne, in 1999. Officium Novum, another sequel album, was launched in September 2010. In 2005, In praise of dreams, his album was nominated for a Grammy Award. Garbarek's first live album Dresden got released in 2009. He won Knight 1st class of the Order of St. Olav in 1999. In 2004 he got Norwegian Arts Council Award. In 2014, he was awarded Willy Brandt Award.


Hironobu Kageyama English Musician
DOB: 18 February 1961
Jeff Beal English Musician
DOB: 20 June 1963
Duff McKagan English Musician
DOB: 5 February 1964
Paul Westerberg English Musician
DOB: 31 December 1959
Johnny Marr English Musician
DOB: 31 October 1963


Born: 12 April 1956

Age Now 68

Andy Garcia - (Movie Actor)

Born: 12 April 1948

Age Now 76

Oliver Stapleton - (Cinematographer)

Born: 12 April 1994

Age Now 30

Saoirse Ronan - (Movie Actress)

Born: 12 April 1987

Age Now 37

Brooklyn Decker - (Movie Actress)

Born: 12 April 1992

Age Now 32

Giorgio Cantarini - (Movie Actor)

Born: 12 April 1956

Age Now 68

Herbert Grönemeyer - (Musician)

Born: 12 April 1982

Age Now 42

Joe Slaughter - (Movie Actor)

Born: 12 April 1978

Age Now 46

Guy Berryman - (Musician)