Hindi Awards 44th Filmfare Awards

44th Filmfare Award Hindi tv-shows on YouTube Channel

The 44th Filmfare Awards ceremony was held on 1999 at the Andheri sports center, Mumbai. It was the year for filmmaker Yash Johar, Shah Rukh Khan, Kajol, Rani Mukherjee and Mani Ratnam. Both Manoj Kumar and Helen received the lifetime achievement award for their contribution to Indian cinema. Actor Shah Rukh Khan was the main star attraction of the year. He was declared the superstar and king of Bollywood. The film ‘Kuch Kuch Hota Hai’ had bagged the maximum eight awards in the different category.

Karan Johar won the best director award of the year. Film ‘Kuch Kuch Hota Hai’ was declared the best film of the year and producer Yash Johar received the award on its behalf. Shah Rukh, Kajol, Salman Khan and Rani Mukherjee won the best actor, best actress, best supporting actor and 'best-supporting -Actress' trophy respectively for their performance in ‘Kuch Kuch Hota Hai’. Johnny Lever won his second best comedy actor award for the film ‘Dulhe Raja’. The best villain award went to Ashutosh Rana for his negative performance in the movie ‘Dushman’.

Fardeen Khan had won the best male debut award in film ‘Prem Aggan’ and actress Preity Zinta won the best female debut award for the film ‘Dil Se’. The best music direction award went to A. R. Rahman for the film ‘Dil Se’ and best lyricist award went to Gulzar for song 'Chal Chaiyyan Chaiyyan' for the film ‘Dil Se’. The best male playback singer award went to Sukhwinder Singh for song ‘Chaiyya Chaiyya’ for the film ‘Dil Se’ and Jaspinder Narula won the best female playback singer award for the title song from film 'Pyaar To Hona Hi Tha'. Ram Gopal Varma’s film ‘Satya’ had bagged six awards. Ram Gopal Varma won the best critics award for film ‘Satya’.

Manoj Bajpai and Shefali Shah won the Critics best actor and best actress award for their splendid performance in ‘Satya’. R.D. Burman Award went to pop singer Kamaal Khan. Best editing award went to Apurva Asrani and Bhanu Daya and the best background score went to Sandeep Chowta for film ‘Satya’. H Sridhar also won the best sound design award for ‘Satya’. Karan Johar won the best screenplay award and Sharmishta Roy had won the best art direction award for film ‘Kuch Kuch Hota Hai’. The best cinematographer award went to Santosh Sivan for the film ‘Dil Se’ and Farah Khan had won the best choreographer award for the train song ‘'Chhaiya Chhaiya' for film ‘Dil Se’.

Rajkumar Santoshi & K.K. Raina won the best dialogue writer award for film ‘Churchgate’. Mahesh Bhatt got the best trophy for best story for film ‘Zakhm’. The best action award went to Akbar Bakshi for film ‘Soldier’. Veteran actor and filmmaker Shekhar Kapoor got a special award at the ceremony.