Hindi Awards 58th Filmfare Awards

58th Filmfare Award Hindi tv-shows on YouTube Channel

The 58th Filmfare Awards ceremony was held on January 20, 2013, at Yash Raj Studio, Mumbai. As usual, the event had popular hosts like Shah Rukh Khan and Saif Ali Khan to entertain the audiences. Saif and Shah Rukh Khan read out the winners on the night. A week before, the announcement of nominations was aired by the organizers. Shah Rukh Khan had also performed live on stages. He performed on old songs from Shammi Kapoor. Dev Anand, Jeetendra and Amitabh Bachchan’s movies.

A rich tribute was paid to Raj Kapoor, Shammi Kapoor, Rajesh Khanna and Dev Anand remembering their contribution to Indian cinema. It was also an evening for well-scripted movies, and many Bengali filmmakers dominated the award category. Bollywood Director Yash Chopra received the Lifetime Achievement Award for his constitution to Indian film industry that spanned over several decades. Neeti Mohan won the R.D. Burman Award. A special award was given to Gauri Shinde for her directorial debut in the film ‘ English Vinglish’. ‘ Gangs of Wasseypur’ had won the best film (critics) award. The main popular awards had included few successful films like ‘Barfi’, ‘ Vicky Donor’, ‘ Kahani’ etc. ‘Barfi’ received 12 nominations and had won 7 awards.

While ‘Barfi’ had won best film for Ronnie Screwvala and Siddharth Roy Kapur, the film also had fetched for actor Ranbir Kapoor the best actor trophy. Sujoy Ghosh received the best director trophy for his film ‘ Kahaani’ and actress Vidya Balan had won the best actress award for her role in ‘Kahani’. The best supporting actor trophy was given to Annu Kapoor for his role in 'Vicky Donor' and the 'best-supporting-actress' trophy went to Anushka Sharma for her role in ' Jab Tak Hai Jaan'. Best male debut award went to Ayushmann Khurana for 'Vicky Donor’ and Ileana D'Cruz for her debut role in 'Barfi'. Music composer Pritam won the best music director award for the film ‘Barfi’. Gulzar won the best lyricist trophy for the song "Challa" from Yash Chopra’s film ‘Jab Tak Hai Jaan’.

The best male playback singer trophy went to actor Ayushmann Khurrana for the song "Pani Da Rang" in the film ‘Vicky Donor’ and female playback singer award went to Shalmali Kholgade for the song "Pareshaan" in the movie ‘"Pareshaan". Sujoy Ghosh’s film also won the best cinematographer award for taking natural shots on the street of Kolkata, and the trophy went to camera man Setu. Also, ‘Kahani’ also bagged the best editor award for Namrata Rao. The best sound design trophy was given to Sanjay Maurya and Allwin Rego fro film ‘Kahani’ again. The best story writer trophy went to Juhi Chaturvedi for 'Vicky Donor'. Sanjay Chauhan and Tigmanshu Dhulia had shared together the best screenplay award for film ‘ Paan Singh Tomar’.

The best dialogue writer award went to four creative persons namely Anurag Kashyap, Zeishan Quadri, Akhilesh & Sachin Ladia for the film ‘Gangs of Wasseypur’. The best production design award was given to Rajat Podar for film ‘ Barfi’. The best background score award also went to Pritam for film ‘Barfi’. The best action award went to Sham Kaushal for the movie ‘Gangs of Wasseypur’. The best costume design award went to the great costume designers Rushi Sharma & Manoshi Nath for the film ‘Shanghai, who designed the costumes for the movies PK, Queen, Kick, etc., Rushi Sharma & Manoshi Nath for the film ‘Shanghai’. Actresses like Rekha, Vidya Balan, Sridevi, Anushka Sharma were seen enjoying the show with Gulzar, Javed Akhtar, Boney Kapoor and others.

Filmmaker Karan Johar too hosted the show and entertained the viewers. He spoke on the legacy of Yash Chopra in the event. Madhuri Dixit gave away the trophy (lifetime achievement) to late Yash Chopra’s wife Pamela Chopra at the event.