Tamil Awards South Filmfare Awards 2009

Tamil Filmfare Awards 2009 Tamil AWARDS on YouTube Channel

South Indian film fare awards ceremony is to appreciate the film industry on their successful works. It honours them with awards under various categories. A film is successful not only because of the lead cast but also because of the direction, choreography and filming. It takes lot of efforts by many talented artists to produce one movie. South Indian films are well known in producing sentimental and cultured films even though it has wide variety of genres. 56th Southern Filmfare Award festival was held at Hyderabad on 31 July 2009. Purab Kohil hosted the program with his own charm and humor.

There was a number of nominations as the year was more competitive. Award categories featured best films, actors, actresses, directors, supporting actors and actresses, music directors, lyricists, playback singers male and female. Southern awards were for four languages including Malayalam, Kannada, Tamil and Telugu. This program witnessed the presence of many popular and talented artists and was filled with joy and happiness.

The Kannada film Gaalipaata and Mussanjemaatu were nominated for about eleven awards. Moggina Manasu, Taj Mahal, Psycho, Aramane and Haage Summane and Buddhivantha was nominated for about three to eight awards each. E. Krishnappa won the award for his best film. Best director Award was given to Devadatta. Ganesh and Radhika Pandit won the awards for their lead roles in Gaalipaata and Moggina Manasu respectively. Yash and Shubha Poonja was awarded for supporting roles in the movie Moggina Manasu. V. HariKrishna was awarded as the best music director and Jayanth Kaikini was given the best lyricist award.

The Malayalam movies including Thirakkatha, Calcutta News, Madambi, Mulla, Gulmohar, Akasha Gopuram, Innathe Chintha Vishyam, Mizhikal Sakshi, Veruthe Oru Bhavya, Minnaminninkootam and Thalappavu were nominated for about two to nine awards each. Thirakkatha was considered as the best film of the year 2009 in Malayalam and Ranjith won the award for his direction. The lead cast Lal and Priyamani also was awarded.

Jalsa, Kotha Bangaru Lokam, Kantri, Gamyam, Parugu, Ready, Ashta Chamma, Krishna, Nachavule, Chintakayala Ravi, Pandarungadu, Gorintaku, Souryam, Salute and Kathanayakudu were the nominated Telugu films. Gamyam won the best film award and Radhakrishna Jagarlamudi for his best direction.

Anjathe, Subramaniyapuram, Vaaranam Aayiram, Bheema, Kuruvi, Pazhani, Poo, Sakkarakatti, Pirivoam Santhipom, Abhiyum Naanum, Dhaam Dhoom, Santosh Subramaniam, Dasavatharam and Yaaradi Nee Mohini was nominated for awards in Tamil. Subramaniapuram won award for best film and Sasikumar for his best direction. This event had more events including the dance performances of actors. Audience were overjoyed and it was sponsored by the Idea Mobile Internet services.