Tamil Awards 63rd Filmfare Awards South

63nd Filmfare Awards South Tamil AWARDS on VIJAY TV


The Filmfare Awards South is an award ceremony presenting the honours to those who had shown excellence in South Indian Film Industry. This show unites the Telugu, Tamil, Malayalam and Kannada film industry people on a single platform. These honours have been presented by ‘The Times Group. This award ceremony has been started back in 1953. Initially, it was only recognized for Hindi films, later in 1963, Tamil, Telugu, Bengali and Marathi were included.

The 63rd Filmfare Awards South show, produced by Brittania, has been telecasted on Vijay TV in the language Tamil. This event has been held at Hyderabad International Convention Centre on June 18, 2016. This show has been broadcasted in Tamil on August 7, 2016. The hosts for this event were Rahul Ravindran and Chinmayi. The anchors for this show in Tamil were Jegan and Ramya. This event kicked off its start with a sizzling performance by Kannada actress Hari Priya.

This show witnessed the presence of many famous people from all the four film industries namely, Chiranjeevi, Mammootty, Jayasudha, Kushboo, Mohan Babu, Suriya, Jyothika, Vikram and much more. Amy Jackson, Catherine Tressa, Aparna Vinod, Rakul Preet Singh were some of those actresses who added glitz and glamour to the stage with some of their stunning performances.

Kakka Mutai was the film which had won the best film award. Actress Nayantara received  the best actress award for her movie Naanum Rowdy Dhaan. The movie Thani Oruvan, starring Nayanatara and Jayam Ravi, received awards in two categories; Aravind Swamy has been awarded for the role of best supporting actor and Mohan Raja received for the best director for that film. The movie Thanga Magan also received 2 awards in that evening which include, Swetha Mohan, who received best playback singer female award for her song Enna Sollu and Raadhika Sarath Kumar who was awarded for the best-supporting actress. However, the movie ‘I’ was honoured with the most number of awards in four categories after being nominated in 7 sections. Chiyaan Vikram was awarded for the best actor of the year; Oscar recipient A. R Rahman had been awarded the best music director award; lyricist Madhan Karky received the best lyricist award for Pookkale Sattru, and singer Sid Sriram had been awarded for the best playback singer male of the evening for his song Ennodu Nee Irundhaal. Some special Jury awards have been presented to Jayam Ravi as the critic best actor for Thani Oruvan and Jyothika as the best actress critic for 36 Vayadhinile. Debutant G.V Prakash Kumar was awarded in this category for the horror comedy movie Darling.