Malayalam Awards Asianet Film Awards 2008

Asianet Film Awards 2008 Malayalam tv-shows on Asianet TV

Asianet Film Awards is the most dignified event in the Malayalam film industry where the partisans of Malayalam Cinema gather every year for rewarding their Best work and witnessing a night of celebration and extravaganza. The 10th Asianet Film Awards was held in Chandrasekaran Nair Stadium on 20th January 2008. While a large crowd of fans had already thronged the stadium to watch their favorite movie stars, it was not possible for many to obtain the ticket to the night’s extravaganza. Screens in various parts of the city had been installed for people to watch live the whole program.

This unusual concept was a new for any TV channel at that time in India. There was much to watch for in the glamorous ceremony attended by the dozens of artists from the Malayalam film industry. Veteran Actor Jackie Shroff was honored with the Special Jury Award. Veteran Actress Sheela was awarded the Asianet lifetime accomplishment prize. ‘Kadhaparayumbol’ won the award for the Best Movie while Lal Jose was selected the Best Director for the film ‘Arabikkatha. Mammootty was bestowed with the Best Actor Award for his work in the films ‘Big B’ and Shyamprasad's blockbusters ‘Kadhaparayumbol’ and ‘Ore Kadal’. Meera Jasmine was awarded the Best Actress Award for her roles in the films ‘Ore Kadal.’ and ‘Vinodayathra’. Mohanlal was chosen the Most Popular Actor, winning this award for his stupendous performances in the hit movies of 2007.

Jagathy Sreekumar bagged the Best Supporting Award for his work in the movies Hallo and Rock N Roll while the female category prize was awarded to KPAC Lalitha for her roles in the films ‘Nasrani’ and ‘Thaniye.’ The work of Kalabhavan Mani in the film ‘Chotta Mumbai’ won him the award for the Best villain role while Suraj Venjaramoodu was given the prize for the Best Comic Role for his part in ‘Hallo.’ Babu Thiruvalla and Nedumudi Venu, who wrote the script for the movie 'Thaniye,,' shared the prize for the Best script-writer. Anil Panachuran won the award for the better Lyricist for the movies ‘Kadhaparayumbol’ and ‘Arabikkatha’.

M. Jayachandran was awarded the Best Music Manager Prize for the film ‘Nivedyam’. Madhu Balakrishnan was chosen as the Best Male Playback Singer for ‘Rock N Roll’ while K. S. Chithra won the award for the Best Female Playback Singer for ‘Hallo. ’ Ganapathi won the Best Kid Artist Award for his character in ‘Vinodayathra.' The Best Cinematographer Award went to Manoj Pillai for ‘Arabikkatha’ and ‘Rock N Roll.’ Bhama and Vinu Mohan were given the award for the Best Star Pair for the movie ‘Nivedyam.’ The Best New Face Award went to Rajith Menon for ‘Goal’ while Ravi Laxmi bagged the prize for Best music Director for his musical prowess in the movie ‘Nivedyam.’ K Narayanan was chosen the Best Editor. The title sponsor for the event was Ujala.