Tamil Awards Vijay Awards 2014

Vijay Awards 2014 Tamil tv-shows on VIJAY TV

Vijay Awards 2014 were held on 5 July 2014. It was the eighth time that Vijay Awards took place. The venue for the ceremony was Chennai. It was sponsored and presented by Gionee India. Divyadharshini and Gopinath were the hosts for the ceremony. Star Vijay broadcasted the event. All the popular celebrities of Tamil Film industry graced the function with their presence. Shah Rukh Khan also attended the ceremony. Many superb performances were done at the occasion including the performance of Vaani Kapoor, and Lakshmi Rai.

Anirudh Ravichander did a special performance. Shruti Haasan and Hansika Motwani also performed, and they rocked the stage with their dance moves. Raja Rani and Vishwaroopam became the films with highest nominations, having 15 and 16 nominations respectively. Kadal won the maximum awards of the night (total six awards). The jury members for Vijay Awards 2013 were cinematographer Ravi K. Chandran, director Prathap K. Pothan, and Yugi Sethu. Best Debut Actor went to Gautham Karthik for Kadal, while Best Debut Actress award was received by Nazriya Nazim for Neram. Atlee became the Best Debut Director for Raja Rani. The film, Ethir Neechal won the Best Crew Award. George C. Williams won the Best Find of the Year Award for Raja Rani. Balu Mahendra was honoured for his contribution to Tamil film industry by giving him Contribution to Tamil Cinema Award. Shankar won the Chevalier Sivaji Ganesan Award for Excellence in Indian Cinema.

Shah Rukh Khan became the Entertainer of Indian Cinema, while Sivakarthikeyan became the Best Entertainer of the Year. Thor and Lalgudi N. Ilaiyaraja won the Best Art Director Award for Vishwaroopam; while Best Editor went to Anthony for Pandiya Naadu. Best Cinematographer Award was given to Rajiv Menon for Kadal. Best Song of the Year went to Anirudh Ravichander for the song, Ethir Neechal Adi from the film Ethir Neechal. Santhosh Narayanan bagged the Best Background score for Soodhu Kavvum. Best Lyricist Award went to Na. Muthukumar for the song Dheivangal Ellam from Kedi Billa Kiiladi Ranga. Best Male Playback Singer Award was received by Yuvan Shankar Raja for the song Kadal Raasa from Maryan, while Best Female Playback Singer was received by Shakthisree Gopalan for the song Nenjukulle from Kadal.

A.R. Rahman became the Best Music Director for Kadal. Dasarathan bagged the Best Make-Up Award for Paradesi, while Best Costume Designer was given to Poornima Ramaswamy & Perumal Selvam for Paradesi. Anal Arasu became the Best Stunt Director for Pandiya Naadu. Brinda won the Best Choreographer Award for the song Adiyae from the film Kadal. Naveen received the Best Dialogue Award for Moodar Koodam. Nalan Kumaraswamy became the Best Story, Screenplay Writer for Soodhu Kavvum. Santhanam won the Best Comedian Award for Theeya Velai Seiyyanum Kumaru, while Best Villain Award was bagged by Arjun for Kadal. Bharathiraja became the Best Supporting Actor for Pandiya Naadu, and Dhansika became the Best Supporting Actress for Paradesi.

Best Actor award was given to none other than Kamal Haasan for Vishwaroopam. Nayantara received the Best Actress award for Raja Rani. Bala won the Best Director award for Paradesi, while Thanga Meenkal became the Best Film. Vijay bagged the Favourite Hero Award for Thalaivaa, while Favourite Heroine went to Nayantara for Raja Rani. Arrambam became the Favourite Film. Kamal Haasan received Favourite Director award for Vishwaroopam. Favourite Song award was given to Oodha Color Ribbon. Evil Engulfs received Special Jury Award.