Jahnu Barua Hindi Actor

Jahnu Barua, an Assamese Filmmaker, born on 17 October in Guwahati, Assam. He is known as the pioneer of Assamese Artistic Cinema. He pursued Bachelor in Science from B. Barooah College of Guwahati and took Diploma in Film Direction from FTII (Film & TV Institute of India) in Pune. He got married to Gayatri, (a filmmaker) who inspired him to become a filmmaker too. Oyu barua is the name of their son. We can say that he is an ‘all-rounder’ because he is a Director, Producer, Writer & Editor. He directed, produced and edited many films like ‘Aparoopa’ (1982), ‘Firingoti’ (1992), 'Tora' (2005), etc. As a Writer, he worked in films such as ‘The F Cycle’ (1974), ‘Ek Kahaani’ (1986), ‘Maine Gandhi Ko Nahin Mara’ & ‘Tora’ (2005), ‘Mumbai Cutting’ (2011).

He made his first film – The F Cycle (short film) released in 1974, but Aparoopa is his first feature film. Jahnu Barua also worked as an assistant director & production for a movie named ‘Shaque’ (1976). He mostly makes films on social themes that address the contemporary culture & politics of Assam. He is well known for his Hindi movie: 'Maine Gandhi Ko Nahin Mara,' a drama that uses the Gandhian Principles for its story-background. His movies portray social messages, hence, all his films has touched the hearts of the people. Besides filmography, Jahnu Barua is also actively engaged in many organizations dealing with women, teenagers, physically disabled kids, culture and awareness programs, etc.

Jahnu Barua is a nine-times National Award winner. He gained National and International recognition from his third film ‘Halodhiya Soraya Boudoir Khai’. His film ‘'Hkhagoroloi Bohu Door’ (Its’ a long way to the Sea), won the National Award for the Best Director in 1995 and fifteen international awards including the World Peace Prize at Chicago International Film Festival, Best Director at the International Film Festival of Independent Film Makers at Brussels. Jahnu Barua has been honored with the PadmaShri Award in 2003 and the Kamal Kumari National Award for Culture in 2004. He has also worked as a Jury member and a Chairperson in many national and international film festivals.