Hindi Awards 6th Indian Telly Awards

The Indian Telly Awards is an award event held annually to honor the best works of the people working in the television industry of India. Anil Wanvari, founder, and CEO of indiantelevision.com conceived it in 2001. The sixth version of Indian Telly Awards took place on 24th November 2006. It was held at the Chitrakut Grounds, on New Link Road in Andheri (West), Mumbai. The entire workforce of the Indian Television Industry had turned up for the gala event including the most favorite stars of all time. A huge crowd of television fan shad also gathered to catch a glimpse of their beloved stars and watch them perform on stage. The awards were given in 43 categories comprising a plethora of fields both on and off-screen. Balaji Telefilms won the Best Production house of the year.

Muqabla’ was chosen as the Talk Show of the Year. TV Today Network (Aaj Tak) won the Best News Channel of the Year-Hindi award while the prize for the English category went NDTV 24x7 channel. The Best Public Service Programme award went to ‘ Jasoos Vijay.’ Kalanithi Maran was honored with Telly Awards for Contribution to TV. Ram Kapoor for his role as Jai Walia in ‘Kasam Se’ bagged the Best Actor in a Lead Role in the male category. Amna Sharif as Kashish in ‘Kahi to Hoga’ won the award for Best Actor – Female. Best Ensemble went to ‘Thodi Kushi Thoda Gham.’ The Couple of the Year was awarded to the characters Jai Walia and Bani from ‘Kasam Se.’ Ronit Roy was selected as the Best TV Personality. The award for the Best News Anchor went to Rajdeep Sardesai.

Best New Face of the Year prize in the male category went to Pulkit Samart. Prachi Desai and Rajshree Thakur shared the award for the Best New Face of the Year in the female category. Style Icon of the Year (Female) went to Amna Sharif while Shabbir Ahluwalia collected the award in the male category. Suchita Trivedi as Meenaxi in ‘Baa Bahoo Aur Baby’ became the Best Actor in a Comic Role. The Best Actor in a Comic Role went to Satish Shah as Indra Vardhavan in ‘Sarabhai vs. Sarabhai.’ Tina Parikh as Mukti in ‘Kasauti Zindagi Kay’ became the Best Actor in Supporting Role (Female) while in the male category, the award went to Hiten Tejwani as Karan in ‘ Kyunki Saas Bhi Kabhi Bahu Thi.’ The Best Actor in a Negative Role award in the female category went to Ashwini Kalsekar as Jigyasa in ‘Kasam Se.’

Monish Behl as Veer in ‘Ek Ladki Anjani Si’ stood the Best Actor in Negative Role (Male). ‘ Deal Ya No Deal’ was given the award for the Best Game Show. The Best Thriller Programme was awarded to ‘ Mano Ya Na Mano.’ ‘ Naya Office Office’ got the award for Best Sitcom/Comedy Programme. ‘Kyunki Saas Bhi Kabhi Bahu Thi’ won the award for Best Continuing TV Program. Swini Garg as Chaitali Thakkar in ‘Baa Bahoo Aur Baby’ won the award for Best Child Artiste (Female). The honor for the Best Child Artiste (Male) went to Dhruv as Pratik in ‘Kaise Ye Pyar Hai.’ Shaan became the Best Anchor. ‘ Nach Baliye’ won the award for the Best Dance-Based Show. Ekta Kapoor entered the Hall of Fame. The Best Kid’s Programme award went to MAD (Music Art Dance). Star Plus became the Best Entertainment Channel. ‘ Fame Gurukul’ became the Best Reality Show while ‘Kasam Se’ became the Best Daily Serial. The Best Weekly Serial award went to ‘ CID.’