Hindi Awards 49th Filmfare Awards

49th Filmfare Award Hindi tv-shows on YouTube Channel

Hrithik Roshan was the star attraction of this film award ceremony. He was adjudged the best popular actor of the year and was chosen for the best actor award (critics) for his performance in film ‘Koi... Mil Gaya'. Director Rakesh Roshan received the best director trophy for the same film. Legends in Indian film Industry such as veteran director Baldev Raj Chopra (B.R. Chopra), yesteryear actress Nirupa Roy and Sulochana Latkar won the lifetime achievement award. Karan Johar’s film ’Kal Ho Naa Ho’ bagged eight awards out of nine nominations. Rakesh Roshan’s film ‘Koi... Mil Gaya’ bagged 4 awards out of eight nominations and ‘Munna Bhai M.B.B.S.‘ stole three awards out of seven nominations in the different category.

Kareena Kapoor won a special mention award for her performance as a prostitute in the film ‘Chameli’. Actress Preity Zinta was awarded the best actress, actress Jaya Bachchan won the best-supporting-actress trophy and Saif Ali Khan won the best supporting actor trophy for the film ‘Kal Ho Naa Ho. Actor Sanjay Dutt won the best comedian actor trophy for his role as Murli Prasad Munna in film ‘Munna Bhai M.B.B.S.’. Irrfan Khan received the best villain award for his negative performance as Ranvijay Singh in the film ‘Haasil’. Shahid Kapoor won the best debut (male) for his role in ‘Ishq Vishq’ and model-turned–actress Priyanka Chopra and Lara Dutta had won together the best female debut of the year trophy for film ‘Andaaz’.

Nagesh Kukunoor was awarded the best story writer trophy for film '3 Deewarein’. Ram Gopal Varma’s film ‘Bhoot’ had won the best editor award for Shimit Amin and best sound design award for Dwarak Warrier. Urmila Matondkar won the best actress (critics) award for her splendid performance in the film ‘Bhoot’. The R.D. Burman award was given to the music composers Vishal-Shekhar for their work in the film ‘Jhankaar Beats’. Shankar-Ehsaan-Loy was awarded the best music composer for film' Kal Ho Naa Ho', best male playback singer trophy was awarded to singer Sonu Nigam for the title song of ‘Kal Ho Naa Ho’, and lyricist Javed Akhtar received the best lyricist trophy for the title song of ‘Kal Ho Naa Ho’.

Singer Shreya Ghoshal won the best female playback singer trophy for song ‘Jadoo Hai Nasha Hai’ for the film ‘Jism’. ‘Munna Bhai M.B.B.S.’ received the best screenplay trophy (Vidhu Vinod Chopra, Rajkumar Hirani and Lajan Joseph), best dialogue writer (Abbas Tyrewala)trophy and even won the critics’ award for best film. Aseem Bajaj won the best cinematographer award for the film 'Chameli' and Muneesh Sappel won the best art direction award for the film 'Pinjar'.