Malayalam Awards Asianet Film Awards 2005

Asianet Film Awards 2005 Malayalam tv-shows on Asianet TV

Started in 1998, Asianet Film Awards is the most distinguished award ceremony in the Malayalam film industry where the champions of Malayalam Cinema turn up every year for a night of recognition and celebration. In 2005 edition of Asianet Film Awards, the Best of works by the artists in Malayalam Cinema were selected and honored on stage by various personalities in the film industry. A plethora of artists from the Cinema industry attended the Special evening. Thousands of movie fans attended the star-studded night. The awards were distributed in a total of fifteen categories including both acting and non-acting works of the year 2004. The lifetime achievement Award was presented to Jagathy Sreekumar, who in his 40-year long career, has starred in over 1000 films, and is particularly renowned for his Comic Roles in various hit movies. The drama film ‘Kaazhcha’ won the award for the Best film. ‘Kaazhcha’ is the story a common man who, lured by the glitter of Cinema, gives up everything for a chance in the topsy- turvy world of glamor.

Kamal Master was given the Best Director Award for his excellent work in the movie ‘ Perumazhakkalam.’ Mammootty was chosen as the Best Actor for his enthralling roles in the movies ‘Vesham’ and ‘Kaazhcha’, while the Best Female Actor Award went to Meera Jasmine for her acting prowess in the movie ‘Perumazhakkalam’. For the movie ‘Vesham,’ Innocent was selected as the Best Supporting Actor, while Gopika bagged the prize for the Best Supporting Actress. The Best music Director Award was conferred to M. Jayachandran for the movies ‘Perumazhakkalam’ and ‘Mamphazhakkalam’, while he also won the Best Playback Singer Award for the movie ‘Perumazhakkalam’. Sujatha Mohan was selected as the Best Female Playback Singer for her mesmerizing voice in the movie ‘Mamphazhakkalam.’

The Best Lyricist Award went to Gireesh Puthenchery for ‘Mamphazhakkalam.’ T. A. Razak was given the honor for the Best Scriptwriter for his work in the movie ‘Perumazhakkalam.’ Master Yash won the Best Child Artist Award for his charming appearance in the film ‘Kaazhcha’, and the Best New Face of the Year Award went to Padmapriya Janakiraman for her role in the same movie. Various cultural performances by the talented artists from Malayalam Cinema as well as from outside kept the audience entertained and added new colors to the auspicious evening of joy and celebration. Various skits and stand-up comedy sessions were also a part of the event. The title sponsor of the ceremony was Ujala.