Malayalam Awards Mirchi Music Awards 2016

Mirchi Music Awards 2016  Malayalam AWARDS on Asianet Plus

The South Indian version of the Mirchi Music Awards was telecasted on 6 September on various regional channels like Zee Telugu and Asianet Plus. The ceremony is hosted by Radio Mirchi to commemorate the professionals working in various film industries. The first iteration of the award show took place in 2010. Suvarna TV, Vijay TV, Asianet Plus and Zee Telugu, have the rights to broadcast the function.

There are two separate juries for each language. The first jury is given the task to shortlist the candidate. The Grand Jury then has to decide the winner from the candidates shortlisted. The juries will each have a separate Chairman. The Tamil Music Industry was awarded for seventeen categories. Meanwhile, the Malayalam, Kannada and Telugu music industries had only fifteen categories to be awarded from.

Mannin Kural-Male and Mannin Kural-Female are the two extra categories. The candidates were awarded for the work done by them in 2015. Here, I'm going to list only the award winners from the Malayalam music industry. Thelimanam from ‘Premam’ was chosen to be the Listener's Choice Song of The Year. Soundtrack from ‘Charlie’, Gopi Sundar, was decided to be the Listener's Choice Album of The Year.

Kaathirunnu from ‘Ennu Ninte Moideen’, was adjudged to be the Song of the year. Charlie was chosen to be the Album of the year. Vijay Prakash was adjudged to be the Male Vocalist of the year for his song Rani Padmini in the movie Charlie. ‘Sayanora’ was adjudged to be the Female Vocalist of the year for her song Mizhimalarukal in the movie Ennu Ninte Moideen. Rafeeq Ahammed was decided to be the Lyricist of the year for writing the lyrics of his song, Oru Karimukilinu, in Charlie.

Jr. NTR was the only person to win awards from two separate music industries. He got the best sensation award in both Kannada and Telugu music industries. Thenisai Thendral Deva, the popular director received a Lifetime Achievement Award. There were twelve winners in the Tamil music industry with there being eight winners from the Telugu music industry and there were also ten winners from the Kannada music industry.