Hindi Awards Zee Cine Awards 2005

Zee Cine Awards 2005 Hindi AWARDS on ZEE TV

Zee Cine Awards abbreviated as ZCA is a franchise award function of the Zee enterprises which rewards the best of the Bollywood Film industry every year. Started in 1998 with the motive of conferring Hindi cinema foreseeing its proliferation worldwide, this award ceremony was born which since have had several stars from Bollywood congregate to celebrate the best of the Bollywood. The evening comprises of Bollywood stars, their dazzling performances and amusing gags and humor amongst the galore of awards in several categories. Sunfeast was the title sponsor of this 8th edition of the Zee Cine Awards which took place on 26th March 2005 in Dockland, London.

The show started off with Karan Johar and Juhi Chawla being the perfect hosts and the pair of Main Hoon Na- Zayed Khan and Amrita Arora giving a scintillating performance entertaining the audience. In the Awards spectra, Swades and Veer Zara were the most nominated films, sweeping away the major awards. Next was Pakistani superstar Omar Sharif, who brought the house down with his comic act. The night saw stunning star-studded performances by Aishwarya Rai, who danced to tunes like Mohe Rang De, Taal Se Taal Mila and the duet by Preity Zinta and Shah Rukh Khan on songs from their film Veer Zara along with on several other hits, which left the audience gasping for more. The show also witnessed Salman Khan performing on songs from his film Lucky.

The main highlight of the event though became Sajid Khan's one to one act of asking celebrities their views about fellow actors which turned out to be a hit segment. Also, Shah Rukh Khan unveiled the new logo for Zee TV and his act of his film Swades as the theme emphasizing the India-Pakistan peace anthem, was well applauded. The world's biggest viewers' choice awards saw many stars taking the coveted trophy back home. Shah Rukh Khan's act of Veer Pratap Singh in Veer Zara made him win the Best Actor Award. Veer Zara also took awards for Best Film, Director ( Yash Chopra), Supporting Actress ( Divya Dutta). Swades won for Best Lyricist ( Javed Akhtar), Newcomer female ( Gayatri Joshi), Sound Re-Recording, Story and Director (critic's) [ Ashutosh Gowariker]. While Abhishek Bachchan won the Best Supporting Actor Award for Phir Milenge, Rani Mukherjee took back home the Best Actress Award for Hum Tum. Main Hoon Na won two awards- Best Debuting Director for Farah Khan and the Best Music Director for Anu Mallick.

Dhoom took four awards back home- Best Playback Female ( Sunidhi Chauhan), Action, Villain ( John Abraham) and Song of the Year. Kunal Ganjawala won his deserved trophy for Best Playback Male (Murder). Ritesh Deshmukh’s funny comic act in Masti made him win the Best Comedian Award. Yash Chopra won the Best Producer trophy. The Critics’ Award for Best actor and actress went to Pankaj Kapoor for Maqbool and Aishwarya Rai for Raincoat respectively. Meenaxi took back three awards in the technical aspect- Best film processing, Cinematography and Art Direction. Maqbool won awards for Best Screenplay and Dialogues. Ek Hasina Thi won for Best Editing and Kyu! Ho Gaya Na for Best Choreography.

Naach won the Best costume design award, whereas Musafir won the Best Special Effects Award. In the audio sector, Hum Tum won for Best Song Recording, Ab Tak Chappan for Best Background Score and Resul Pookutty (Musafir) for Best Audiography. Dharmendra got conferred upon with the Lifetime Achievement Award.