Birthday: 30-05-1931
Date of death: 15-10-2005
Star sign: Gemini

Sundara Ramaswamy is an Indian novelist, author, translator and poet. He was born on 30th May 1931 in the Thazhuviya Mahadevar Kovil village in Nagercoil in Tamil Nadu and died on 15th October 2005 of lung fibrosis in the US. He was known in the literary community as Su.Ra and wrote poems under the penname Pasuvayya.

Sundara grew up in Kerala for the most part of his life due to which he only knew Malayalam even though his mother tongue was Tamil. In his childhood, he suffered from rheumatism and had to drop out of school. When he was eighteen years old, he learned Tamil on his own. He has two daughters and a son. Sundara began his writing career at the age of 20, by translating the Malayalam novel Thottiyude Makan written by Thakazhi Sivavsankara Pillai into Tamil. He later also translated Thakazhi’s Chemmeen and short stories written by Basheer, Thakazhi, M. Govindan and Karoor Neelakanta Pillai.

In 1951, Sundara wrote his first short story Mudhalam Mudivum which was published in the Tamil magazine Pudumaipithan Ninaivu Malar. The next year, he wrote the short story Thanneer. Sundara was drawn to the Communist ideology in his youth and steeped into Marxist literature. He wrote the Tamil journals Shanthi and Saraswathi whose editors were his friends and held similar view. He was disillusioned from the Communist movement when he read Kruschev’s 20th CPSU Congress address and by the suppression of the Hungarian writers’ revolution. However, he still believed that some aspects of Communism were still applicable to India.

In 1959, Sundara wrote his first poem Un Kai Nagam as Pasuvayya. Sundara published his Tamil novels Oru Puliyamarathin Kathai in 1966, J.J: Silakurrippukal in 1981 and Kuzhanthaigal, Pengal, Angal in 1995. He published a collection of his poems under the title Nadunisi Naigal in 1975 and a second poetry collection called Yaaro Oruvanukkaga in 1987. All his poems were published in the collection Sundara Ramaswamy Kavithaikal. Oru Puliyamarathin Kathai was interpreted in English as Tale Of The Tamarind Tree, in Hindi as Imli Puran, in Malayalam as Oru Puliyamarathinte Katha and in Hebrew Ronit Ricci. Kuzhanthingal, Pengal, Angal was interpreted in English as Children, Women, Men.

Sundara was the editor and publisher of the literary magazine Kalachuvadu. He also wrote stories for the Palanquin Bearers. Sundara won awards like the Kumaran Asan Memorial Award in 1988, the Iyal Award for Lifetime Achievement from The Tamil Literary Garden in 2001 and the Katha Chudamani Award in 2003.

Sarojini Sahoo Tamil Actress

Sarojini Sahoo

Sarojini Sahoo is an Indian academician, writer and feminist. She was born on 4th January 1956 in Dhenkanal in Odisha. She is an associate editor of the English magazine Indian AGE and a columnist at the English daily The New Indian Express. Sarojini was born to Nalini Devi and Ishwar Chandra Sahoo. She is the wife of the veteran writer Jagdish Mohanty with whom she has a daughter named Sambedana and a son named Anubhav. Sarojini earned a Bachelor of Law, and a Master of Arts and Ph.D. in Oriya Literature from the Utkal University. She teaches at a Degree college of Belpahar, Jharsuguda, Orissa. Sarojini’s works deal with the subject of feminism, sexuality and patriarchy. She rejects the patriarchal limits placed by the society on women’s sexual expression and identifies liberation of women’s sexual rights as the true motivation behind women’s movement. She is often identified as Simone De Beauvoir of India, even though she refutes the French feminist author’s The Other Theory. In 2005, Sarojini published her Odia novel Gambhiri Ghara which became a bestseller for its feminist outlook and sexual frankness. The novel was republished in English as The Dark Abode in 2008 and as Irunda Koodaram in Malayalam. The novel was one of the few to be republished in Bangladesh in Bengali Mithya Gerosthali in 2007. Her 2007 Odia novel Pakshibasa was translated in Hindi in India and Bengali in Bangladesh under the same title. Her other Odia novels include Upanibesh in 1998, Pratibandi in 1999, Swapna Khojali Mane in 2000, Maharajatra in 2001 and Asamajik in 2008. In 2006, Sarojin published a collection of her short series in the book Sarojini Sahoo Stories which created debate and controversy with stories like Rape and a lesbian love story Behind The Scenes. Her other anthologies include Srujani Sarojini in 2008, Dukha Apramita in 2006, Deshanthari in 1999, Tarali Jauthiba Durga in 1995, Chowkath in 1994, Amrutara Pratikshare in 1992, Nija Gahirare Nije in 1989 and Sukhara Muhanmuhin in 1981. In 2010, she published a collection of her essays under the title Sensible Sexuality, where she explores the concept of Eastern Feminism while emphasizing that feminism liberates both men and women from the patriarchal norms of the society that force men to be machismo and women to be subservient. India’s national television channel Delhi Doordarshan featured her life story in the special television serial Literary Postcard. Sarojini has won many awards including the Jhankar Award 1992, the Odisha Sahitya Academy Award 1993, the Bhubhaneshwar Book Fair Award 1993, the Prjatantra Award 1981 and 1993, and the Ladli Media Award 2011. Kolkata’s English magazine Kindle listed her among the 25 Exceptional Women Of India.


R. K. Narayan

R. K. Narayan is an Indian author. He was born on 10th October 1906 in Chennai where he died on 13th May 2001. He was one of the leading Indian English story writers. Narayan was the son of a headmaster and the elder brother of studio editor Ramachandran and cartoonist Laxman. He was raised by his grandmother Parvati. He married Rajam with whom he had a daughter named Hema. He attended school at the Lutheran Mission School, CRC High School and the Christian College High School. He graduated from the Maharaja College of Mysore. He worked as a school teacher for a brief period before leaving and focusing on his writing career. Narayan’s first published work was a book review on the Development Of The Maritime Laws of The 17th Century England. He wrote articles for many English newspapers and magazines. He wrote his first novel Swaminathan And Tate in 1930 based on his childhood experience but was rejected by several publishers before the British publisher Graham Greene published it under the title Swami And Friends. His second novel The Bachelor Of Arts was published 1938, which was based on his college days. Both the books were based in the fictional town of Malgudi. His third book called the Dark Room, published in 1938, depicted domestic violence against women. In 1939, Narayan was devastated when his wife died of Typhoid but soon found the courage to write The English Teacher in 1945 based on his and Rajam’s married life. This book was also based in Malgudi and creating what became known as the Malgudi series. Before this, Narayan published a collection of his short stories under the title Malgudi Days in 1942. During the World War II, Narayan started his own publication called the Indian Thought Publications which was named after his first journal the Indian Thought which only ran for a year till 1941. However, his publication house still runs at present, managed by his granddaughter. Narayan shifted his writing style from his semi-autobiographical works like the Malgudi series to more creative and fictional tones. Such works included Mr. Sampath in 1949, The Financial Expert in 1952 and Waiting For Mahatama among several others. Narayan received several awards and accolades including the Sahithya Akademi Award in 1958 for the Guide, Filmfare Award for the Best Story for the 1965 film Guide, the Padma Bhushan on the 1964 Indian Republic Day, AC Benson Medal in 1980. He was an honorary member of the British Royal Society of Literature and the American Academy for Arts and Letters.

R. K. Narayan Tamil Actor