Birthday: 31-12-1925
Date of death: 08-12-2011
Star sign: Capricorn

Shri Lal Shukla was born on 31st December 1925. He is a very popular writer and majorly writes satire very well. He was into Provincial Civil Services in Uttar Pradesh and later he became an IAS officer as well. He has written a lot of books during his lifetime. He wrote more than 25 books and his books are very inspiring and motivational.

Few of his popular books are Raag Darbari, Bisrampur Ka Sant and many more. Through his novels he tried to explain the world the changes that took place in the post independence era in the Indian society, he tried to tell the world that the values are falling. He writes satire very well and his writings reflect the life of the people in the urban area.

His famous book Raag Darbari was translated into 15 Indian languages and English as well. In 1980’s his series broadcasted for several months and became popular. He has also written Aadmi Ka Zahar which was a detective novel which also got published in the magazine called ‘Hindustan’. He has got many awards in the year 2011;he won the Janpith award which is the highest literary award in India. In the year 1969 he received the Sahitya Akademi Award for his popular novel Raag Darbari. He also got the Vyas Samman award in the year 1999 for his very famous novel Bisrampur Ka Sant.

In the year 2008 he received the Padma Bhushan award by the Honorable President Of  India. In the year 2005 on his 80th birthday his friends decided to make it one of his memorable birthdays and decided to do something different for him therefore, they organized a cultural and literary event for him in Delhi. On his 80th birthday they also gifted him a book named Sri Lal Shukla – Jeevan Hi Jeevan and this book consists of the writings of many famous authors like Rajendra Yadav, Ashok Bajpai and many more. He got his first book published in the year 1957, Sooni Ghaati.

In the year 1981 he represented India in the International Writers Meet which was held in Belgrade. In the year 1983 he was retired from the Administrative Services. He wrote many famous satires as well; some of them are Angad ka Paanv in the year 1958, Yahaan Se Vahaan in the year 1970, Khabron Ki Jugaali in the year 2005, Agli Shataabdi Ka Seher in the year 1996 and many more.

He also wrote many famous short stories; he wrote Yeh Ghar Mera Nahin in the year 1979, Iss Umra Mein in the year 2003, Suraksha Tatha Anya Kahaaniyan in the year 1991 and many more. He has also visited many countries and received many awards for his writings there also.