Hindi Awards 60th Filmfare Awards

60th Filmfare Award Hindi tv-shows on YouTube Channel

The 60th Filmfare Awards was held on 31 January 2015 at Yash Raj Studio in Mumbai. The host of the evening was Karan Johar, Alia Bhatt and ‘Comedy Nights’ show host Kapil Sharma. It was a year for Kangana Ranaut and her film ‘ Queen’, who had shared the maximum trophy. She was declared the queen of the year for essaying the powerful role in her film ‘Queen.' This film also received maximum 13 nominations and won six awards in the different category.

Yesteryear actress Kamini Kaushal received the Filmfare achievement year trophy from actress Jaya Bachchan. A special award was given to Abhishek Varman as the best debut director award for the film ‘ 2 States’. Two other films ‘ Highway’ and ‘ Haider’ had received nine nominations, but ‘Highway’ could not win any awards while ‘Haider’ had swept as many as five awards in many categories. The most popular film ‘ PK’ won 2 awards after having got nominated for six different categories. It was a year only for ‘Queen’, ‘Haider’, ‘2 States’ and ‘ Pk’. Vikas Bahl won the best director award for film 'Queen'. Being the producer of 'Queen', Anurag Kashyap and Vikramaditya Motwane shared together the best film trophy. Actress Kangana was the unanimous choice for best actress for her strong role in ‘Queen’. She defeated Madhuri and ' Rani Mukerji' and had won the award.

The best actor trophy went to Shahid Kapoor for his excellent performance in the film 'Haider'. Even Aamir Khan was in the fray for his role in ‘PK’ but could not win the best actor trophy. Kay Kay Menon was an undisputed choice for winning the best supporting actor trophy for 'Haider' as there was no strong contender for the same award. Actress Tabu won the 'best-supporting-actress' trophy for the film ‘Haider’. Kriti Sanon made her debut through ‘ Heropanti’ and won the best female debut of the year while Fawad Afzal Khan made his debut through film ' Khubsoorat' and won the best male debut award of the year. The best actress (critics) went to Alia Bhatt for her performance in film ‘2 States’.

Film ‘Ankon Dekhi’ won the best film (critics) award and the same film fetched for actor Sanjay Mishra the best actor (critics) award. The film ‘ Ankhon Dekhi’ has fetched for Rajat Kapoor best story writer award too. The best screenplay award went to Rajkumar Hirani and Abhijat Joshi for their work in the film ‘PK’. The best music composer award went to Shankar Ehsaan Loy for ‘2 States’. The best female playback singer trophy went to Kanika Kapoor for the popular song 'Baby Doll' from the movie ' Ragini MMS 2'.

The best male playback singer award went to Ankit Tiwari for the song 'Galiyaan' from the movie 'Ek Villian'. Best lyrics award went to Rashmi Singh for the song ‘'Muskurane Ki Wajah' from Mahesh Bhatt’s film ‘ City Lights’. The best background score award went to Amit Trivedi for the film ‘Queen’. The film ‘Haider’ fetched for Dolly Ahluwalia the best costume design award. This film also had fetched for Subrata Chakraborty and Amit Ray best production design award. The best cinematographer award of the year went to Bobby Singh and Siddharth Diwan together for the film ‘Queen’. The best action award went to Sham Kaushal for ' Gunday'. Rani Mukherjee’s film ‘ Mardaani’ received the best sound designer award for Anilkumar Konakandla and Prabal Pradhan. The best choreographer award went to Ahmed Khan for song 'Jumme Ki Raat' for the movie ' Kick'.