Top 10 Actors Turned Politicians At Present

Top 10 Actors Turned Politicians At Present Hindi Article

An actor drifting into politics is not new in the Indian context. Considering the popular mandate that the likes of MGR had in the past, the influence of the movie industry on the political scenario of the country is immense.

Here is the list of the Top 10 Actor-turned-politicians in the country at present:  



1. Chiranjeevi

Very few people know Konidela Siva Sankara Vara Prasad. However, there would hardly be any film enthusiast in the country who is not familiar with the name Chiranjeevi. From being an actor to a singer to a producer, he has become a famous politician as well. One of the leading film stars of the Telugu movie industry, he is also one of the former ministers of the Government of India.He found the famous Praja Rajyam Party in 2008 and successfully contested in the State Legislative Assembly elections. Later he merged his party with the Congress Party and was nominated to the Rajya Sabha. He joined the Congress party and became the MoS for Tourism with Independent charge in 2012.



2. Innocent


Innocent is a famous actor from the southern state of Kerala. Rich in humor and known for his vivid expressions, Innocent was the District Secretary of Revolutionary Socialist Party in his younger days.He contested the 2014 Lok Sabha polls from the Chalakudy constituency in Kerala. He contested the elections as an independent candidate but was backed by the Left Democratic Front in Kerala. He won the elections and is currently a Member of the Parliament.



3. Smriti Irani

Smriti Irani, a minister at present and a member of the Rajya Sabha, was a famous model and mini-screen actor before she became a politician. She joined BJP and later became an actor member. She took on Rahul Gandhi Rahul Gandhi is a politician of India who is one o >> Read More... Rahul Gandhi in Amethi, but lost the poll to him. She was earlier the National Secretary of BJP and was also the president of Bharatiya Mahila Morcha. Her fast to get Narendra Modi Born on September 17, 1950, in Mehsana, Gujarat, N >> Read More... Narendra Modi taken off from the Chief Minister chair of Gujarat and the subsequent incidents gave her national attention in the 2000s.




4. Angoorlata Deka Bio coming soon... >> Read More... Angoorlata Deka

A member of the Legislative Assembly in Assam, Angoorlata Deka is an actress in the Assamese movie industry. Her roles in the movies Hia Diba Kak and Bakor Putek, gave her the mileage she needed in the movie field. From then on, she played her roles in various movies. In 2015 December, she joined the Bharatiya Janatha Party and contested the Legislative Assembly polls in 2016. She was one of the only two lady representatives of BJP to get the political mandate.




5. Govinda

Known for his evergreen roles in the Bollywood movies, Govinda is a renowned dancer and comedian as well. His career in politics is another proof of his multi-faceted personality.He joined the Congress party in 2004 and was immediately elected to the Lok Sabha. But, he later had to resign owing to the controversies over his prolonged absence from the House as he chose to proceed with his movie passion further ahead. Since then he has stayed away from active politics.



6. Jaya Prada Jaya Prada is a renowned Indian actress and politi >> Read More... Jaya Prada

A famous actor of the yesteryears from Andhra Pradesh, Jaya Prada is still remembered for her beauty and romance in the South Indian movie industries. A Member of Parliament for ten years in succession from Rampur, Jaya Prada is infamous for her juggling from one party to another that started from Telugu Desam Party to Samajwadi Party to RLD at present. She contested the 2014 elections but failed to garner the required number of votes.


7. K B Ganesh Kumar

Ganesh Kumar hails from a family with a strong political history in Kerala. A famous actor, television host and a politician himself, K B Ganesh Kumar always managed to find the perfect balance between movies and politics. He was voted off as the Member of Legislative Assembly, Kerala in 2001. From then on, he has contested the elections thrice again and is now an MLA, fourth time in succession. He is also a two-time ex-minister in various portfolios.


8. R Sarathkumar

Known for his talent in Journalism and for his impeccable acting skills, Sarathkumar is a towering figure in the South Indian movie industry. He first came into politics through the DMK party in Tamil Nadu. He was made a Rajya Sabha member in 2001, but later resigned. He then changed his party and became a member of AIADMK. Soon, he left AIADMK, and floated his party All India Sammathuwa Makkal Katchi and won the following state elections in 2011. He again chose to be a candidate in the 2016 Assembly polls, but he could not win the election.


9. Vijayakanth

A leading Tamil actor in the yesteryears, Vijayakanth is also a well-known politician. He was the Opposition Leader in Tamil Nadu from 2011 to 2016. He founded the party Desiya Murpokku Dravida Kazhagam and later served the constitutuency of Rishivandyam as its representative in the Legislative Assembly of Tamil Nadu. He contested in the 2016 polls but was badly defeated.


10. Ramya

Divya spandana, popularly known as Ramya, is among the leading actresses in the Kannada movie industry. She made her debut in Kannada movies in the film Abhi. She is an active member of the Congress Party. She became a Member of Parliament from the Mandya constituency in Karnataka in the 2013 by-polls. Although she lost the mandate in the 2014 general elections.