Hindi Awards 27th Filmfare Awards

27th Filmfare Award Hindi tv-shows on YouTube Channel

The 27th Filmfare Awards ceremony was held in the year 1980. It was an eventful year for Shyam Benegal, Hrishikesh Mukherjee, Amol Palekar, Amjad Khan and Helen. Shyam Bengal’s film ‘Junoon’ fetched maximum six awards in the different category and while Hrishikesh Mukherjee’s comedy film ‘Gol Maal’ bagged three awards in the various category.

Surprisingly, Helen bagged her first Filmfare award for her role in ‘Lahu Ke Do Rang’ in the category of supporting actress and Amjad Khan deserved a best supporting actor trophy for his powerful performance in the movie ‘Dada’. ‘Junoon’ was the best film of the year. Producer Shashi Kapoor got the award as he produced the film. Director Shyam Benegal received best director award of the year for the film ‘Junoon’. Actress Jaya Bhaduri got her last best actress award for film ‘Nauker’.

She left the film industry after this movie, but later made again a comeback and won a few more accolades and awards. Amol Palekar received the best actor trophy for his dual character role in the movie ‘Gol Maal’. Veteran screen performer Utpal Dutt won the best comedian award for the movie ‘Gol Maal’. Gulzar got the best lyricist award for song ‘Aane Wala Pal’ from the film ‘Gol Maal’. Music composer Laxmikant-Pyarelal got the best composer award for the film ‘Sargam’.

Singer K. J. Yesudas received his film Hindi Filmfare Award trophy for his melodious song ‘Dil Ke Tukde Tukde’ for the film ‘Dada’. It is for the first time that no female singer was given any trophy. Although Vani Jairam’s devotional songs for the movie ‘Meera’ could have fetched her a trophy easily. The best story writer award went to Shankar Shesh for film ‘Dooriyaan’. Satyadev Dubey got the best dialogue writer trophy for his work in the film 'Junoon'.

The best screenplay award was shared by Girish Karnad and B. V. Karanth for the film ‘Godhuli’. Best editing award went to Bhanudas Divakar, the best cinematography award went to Govind Nihalani and best sound recording award went to Hitendra Ghosh for their creative work in film ‘Junoon’. The Filmfare best art direction award went to Madhukar S. Shinde for the movie ‘Lahu Ke Do Rang’. Yash Chopra’s two films ‘Kaala Patthar’ & ‘Noorie', and Gulzar's ‘Meera’ could not take home any award. Surprisingly, south Indian actress Jayaprada got a nomination in the best actress category. Basu Chatterjee’s film ‘Jeena Yahan’ won best film choice by critics for 1979.