Telugu Awards Nandi Awards 1991

Nandi Awards 1991 Telugu AWARDS on YouTube Channel

Nandi Awards ceremony is to celebrate the achievements of the Telugu film industry. Andhra government sponsors this award program. Film, Television and Theatre Development Corporation presented this ceremony since 1964 till 2011. It is considered as highest of the awards. Copper, Bronze, Silver and Gold are the four categories of Nandi Awards.

The Theatre Award given on the successive years is the Natakotsavam Award. It was especially for the poetic, mythological and social dramas. The successful entries will be selected by the government through the state selection panel. The Chief Minister will distribute the awards in the ceremony at Hyderabad. The Central Board of Film Certification must certify the films to get the eligibility for nomination. The awards are presented in front of public on the New Year eve. It features to celebrate various categories of film including the documentary, non-featured, educational, featured and children’s film.

Cash prizes and medals with Certificate of Commendation were also provided for the winners. Bommireddy Narasimha Reddy National Award, Nagireddy-Chakrapani National Award, Raghupati Venkaiah Award and NTR National Award are the honorary awards. Chitram Bhalare Vichitram, Manjeera Nadam and Sarpa Yagam was noted for Special Jury Award. Dasari Narayana Rao and Sridevi won the best actor and actress award for Mamagaru and Kshana Kshanam respectively. Kshana Kshanam was considered as the best movie of the year and the director Ram Gopal Varma was awarded. Nassar won the Best Villain Award for his antagonist role in the movie Chanti. K. Srirama Chandra Murthy was noted for his direction of Manjeera Nadam movie. The supporting actor and actress award was won by Vinod Kumar and Gowthami for the movies Mamagaru and Chakravyugam.

The appreciated screenplay of the year was given to Ram Gopal Varma. Mullapudi Venkata Ramana wrote exclusive dialogues for the movie Pelli Pustakam and he was awarded for his best dialogues. Babu Mohan was given the Best Male Comedian Award. Vetri Sundaram Murthy won the laurel for his lyrics. Raavi Kondala Rao wrote the best story for the movie Pelli Pustakam. S. P. Balasubramanyam and K. S. Chithra were the best play back singers during the year 1991. Yagnam movie was best among the feature film category. Shyam Prasad Reddy, Ramoji Rao and K. S. Ravikumar were awarded for spreading the spirit of National Integration through their movies. S. Gopala Reddy won the award as best cinematographer and Sankar was awarded for his editing skills. The notable documentary films to win the awards were Aakurthi by B. Narasing Rao and Maarumoola Pranthaalaku Manchi Rojulu.