Malayalam Awards Kerala State Film Awards 2014

Kerala State Film Award 2014 Malayalam AWARDS on YouTube Channel

The 2014 edition of the Kerala State Film Awards was held on 10 August 2015. It is the award function’s forty-first edition, which first started in 1969. It is held to award the exceptional performances of various people in the Malayalam Film Industry during 2014. There were thirty-thirty-three categories of awards and over seventy movies to choose from. The ceremony was held on 26 December 2015. Mohanlal was the guest of the function. Oommen Chandy who is the Chief Minister of the State presented the awards.

To give out the awards, there was a ten man jury which comprised of directors and other famous film personalities. It was headed by John Paul. Bhadran Mattel, Balu Kiriyath, Raja Narayanan, Sunny Joseph, Suresh Unnithan, Renjith, Satheesh Babu Payyannur, M. M. Hamsa, A. Padmanabhan and S. Rajendran Nair, were the members of the jury. Ottaal was the Best Film of the year. My Life Partner was honoured with the Second Best Film of the year.

Sanal Kumar Sasidharan won the Best Director Award for directing Oraalppokkam. Om Shanti Oshana was the Best Film with Popular Appeal and Aesthetic Value. Ankuram was adjudged to be the Best Children's Film. TheBest Actor Award was shared by two personalities. Nilvin Pauly who acted in Bangalore Days and 1983, and the My Life Partner actor Sudev Nair, shared the spoilts. The Bangalore Days and Om Shanti Oshana actor, Nazriya Nazim, was the best actress of 2014. Anoop Menon was the second best actor for his performances in 1983 and Vikramadithyan. “How old are you?” actress Sethulakshmi, was the second best actress.

Shreya Ghoshal was the best female singer. I. V. Sasi was the receiver of the J. C. Daniel Award. It is special award given for a person’s exceptional contributions towards the development of the industry. Athijeevanathinte Chalachithra Bhashyangal by V. K. Joseph, is the best book written on cinema. Indulal Kaveedu received the Best Art Director Award for his role in the picture Njan Ninnodukoodeyundu. Sameera Saneesh was honoured with Best Costume Designer. Bijibal was honoured with Best Background Music Award, for various films.