Malayalam Awards Filmfare Awards South-Malayalam

Filmfare Awards South-Malayalam Malayalam TV SHOWS on Asianet TV

The filmfare awards South is a replica of Bollywood award ceremony known as Filmfare awards which is a symbol of excellence given to the south Indian professionals in the industry presented by The Times Group. They were first introduced in 1954 in order to honour the south Indian filmmakers and actors. In this ceremony, all South Indian professionals including Tamil, Telugu, Malayalam, and Kannada perform on the stage and the best out of all is awarded a symbol of integrity and honour. The Malayalam cinema was included in the year 1967 in this ceremony in order to honour the best actor/actress, director, singer and other professionals for the year 1966.

This ceremony is performed once in a year to award the best industry professionals for the complete year. The Filmfare award for the best actor Malayalam was instituted in 1972 and was first awarded to Madhu for the role of Vishwam in the movie Swayamwarm in the same calendar year and currently, it is with Fahadh Fassil for the role of Prasad in Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum released in 2017. There were many actors who constantly won the hearts of the Malayalam cinema fans for which they were awarded again and again like Mammootty, Madhu, Mohanlal and many more.

Similarly, the Filmfare award for the best actress awarded by Filmfare magazine as a part of its Filmfare awards South for Malayalam was extended to 1972 and Roja Ramani became the first recipient of this award for the role of Santha in Chembarathy. Parvathy Thiruvothu s the current holder of Filmfare award for the best actress for the role of Sameera in Take Off released in the year 2017. The most awarded actress in Malayalam cinema include Manju Warrier, Samyuktha Varma, and others.

Talking about the best film in the Malayalam industry, again this award is given by the Filmfare magazine as a part of the annual Filmfare awards for the Malayalam cinema. Chemmeen became the first movie to attend this award back in 1967 which was released in the calendar year 1966 produced by Hasan Ismail. Thondimuthalum driksakshiyum produced by Sandeep Senan and Anish M Thomas is the current holder of this award for the year 2017.