Malayalam Awards Asianet Film Awards 2010

Asianet Film Awards 2010 Malayalam tv-shows on Asianet TV

The most prestigious Award ceremony of the Malayalam Film Industry, Asianet Film Awards, is held every year to reward the best talents of the industry and to gather all the people associated with Malayalam Cinema for a magnanimous evening of celebration. Chandrasekharan Nair Stadium in Thiruvananthapuram played host to the 12th Asianet Film Award on 16th January 2010. The occasion was to reward the best of the cinematographic work accomplished in the year 2009. There were in all 25 categories. The award winners were announced by senior vice-president of Asianet R. Sreekantan Nair on 3rd January 2010. Apart from the notable dignitaries, a huge crowd of fans had also gathered in the stadium to witness the event.

The function was attended by a plethora of stars both from the Malayalam movie sector and from outside it. The Lifetime Achievement Award was conferred to P. V. Gangadharan, for his priceless contribution as a producer to the film industry. The Oscar Award-winning, sound designer Resool Pukutty, bagged the Special Award for his exceptional career in the film Industry. Mammootty was selected for the Millennium Actor Award. ‘Pazhassi Raja’ was chosen to be the Best film. The Best Director Award was won by Ranjith for his work in ‘Paleri Manikyam: Oru Pathirakolapathakathinte Katha.’

Mohanlal won the Best Actor Award for his roles in ‘IvidamSwargamaanu’ and ‘Bhramaram’ while the Best Actress Award went to Kavya Madhava for the role of Amritha in the movie ‘Banarasa.’ Sreenivasan won the award for the Best Supporting Actor for the movies ‘Makante Achan’ and ‘ Passenger.’ The Best Supporting Actress for this year was Swetha Menon for the movie ‘PaleriManikyam: Oru Pathirakolapathakathinte Katha.’ His work in the thriller ‘Passenger’ won Ranjit Sankar the Best Screenplay Award.

The Best Cinematographer Award was bestowed to Ajayan Vincent for the movie ‘Bhramaram,’ while Vijay Sanker was chosen the Best Editor for the same film. The Best music Director Award was bagged by Deepak Dev for his musical contributions in ‘PuthiyaMukham.’ VayalarSarath Chandra Varma was deemed the Best Lyricist for ‘Neelatharma.’ The sensational number, ‘PichaVacha,’ in the movie Puthiya Mukham won Shankar Mahadevan the award for Best Male Playback Singer, while K. S. Chithra won in the female category for the song ‘KunnatheKonnakkum’ from the movie ‘Pazhassi Raja.’ The award for the Most Popular Actor was given to Dileep for ‘ Kaaryasthan,’ ‘Pappy Appacha,’ and ‘ Marykkundoru Kunjaadu.’

Lakshmi Rai bagged the award for the Most Popular Actress for the film ‘Ividam Swargamaanu.’ In the villain category, Lalu Alex was chosen the Best Actor for ‘Ividam Swargamaanu.’ The Best Actor in a Comic Role Award was presented to Jagadish for his witty role in ‘2 Harihar Nagar.’ Jaysurya and Roma’s chemistry in ‘Utharaswayamvaram’ won them the Best Star Pair Award. Best Child Face Award went to Baby Nivedita for her charming appearance in ‘Bhramaram’ and ‘ Kana Kanmani.’

The prize for the Best New Face of the Year was given to Nishan for the film ‘ Ritu,’ while Archana Jose Kavi won in the female category for ‘Neelathamara.’ Among other awards, the Special Jury Awards were given to R. Sarathkumar and Manoj K. Jayan for the film ‘Pazhassi Raja,’ and to Kanika for ‘Bhagyadevatha and ‘Pazhassi Raja’. The Youth Icon of this year was Prithviraj Sukumaran. The event was telecasted on TV on 18th January on Asianet channel.