Malayalam Awards Asianet Film Awards 2006

The annual Asianet Film Awards, since its conception in 1998, has been persistently instrumental in honoring the Best of the works in Malayalam Cinema every year. A multitude of stars from not only Kerala but also across the whole nation come to attend the grand night of celebration, along with thousands of fans. The annual Asianet Film Awards entered its eighth year in 2006. This year, the ceremony was held in Thiruvananthapuram on 19 March. Asianet selected the top performers from a long list of artists, technicians, and producers, based on jury’s verdict and public votes. The winners were announced on 11 March 2006. Before the awards, the channel would telecast a curtain raiser on 19 March. Veteran Actor, late Sukumari won presented the Lifetime Achievement Award for her long and fruitful career in Malayalam and Tamil Cinema.

Vikram, a Tamil Actor, was given the Honor Special Jury Award. Movie ‘Achuvinte Amma’, a film portraying the deep relationship between a daughter and a mother, won the Best Film Award. The Best Director Award went to Blessy for the movie ‘ Thanmathra’. Mohanlal was chosen the Best Actor for his role in the films ‘Thanmathra’ and ‘ Udayananu Tharam’, while the female category Award was won by Meera Jasmine for ‘Achuvinte Amma.’ S. Kumar was given the Best Cinematographer Award for the movie ‘UdayananuTharam’; the Best script writer Award went to Sreenivasan for the same movie. Nedumudi V​enu was given the Best Supporting Actor Award for his role in ‘Thanmathra’ while the newcomers Meera Vasudevan and Arjun Lal won the Best New Face Awards in their respective categories for the same movie. Ranjan Abraham won the Best Editor Award.

Charming Niranjana got the Best Child Artist Award for her fascinating appearance in the movies ‘Thanmathra’ and ‘Bharatchandran I.P.S.’ Shaji Madhavan was given the Best sound recordist Award for the movie ‘ Naran.’ In music, M. G. Radhakrishnan was present the award for the Best music Director for his flair in the movie ‘ Anandabhadram.’ The Best Male Playback Singer Award was given by M. G. Sreekumar for his moving voice in the movies ‘Thanmathra’ and ‘Anandabhadram’ with the Best Female Playback Singer Award was given to K. S. Chithra for her mesmerizing songs in the film ‘Achuvinte Amma.’ A cultural program followed the award ceremony in which many leading artists including Reema Sen, Shobhana, Jyothirmayi, Meghna Naidu, Rahas, singers Madhu Balakrishnan, M. G. Sreekumar, Vidhu Prathap, Manjari, `Pop' Shalini, Jazzie Gift and K.S. Chithra. Ujala was the title sponsor of the event. The associate sponsors were Asian Paints, Rasna, Horlicks Godrej, Anchor, Nestle, and Rasna.