Malayalam Awards Asianet Comedy Awards

Asianet Comedy Awards Malayalam AWARDS on Asianet TV

The Asianet Comedy Awards is an award ceremony held to honour the excellence of comedy films, serials, and comedians of the Malayalam industry. It is presented by Asianet, a Malayalam television network. The function occurs annually in the Adlux International Convention Centre Angamaly.

This show initially started in the year 2015 and was held till 2017. The peculiarity of the show is that all the awards are given only to those films or actors who have succeeding in making the viewers laugh till their stomachs hurt. In 2015, the awards for comedic timing were given in the following categories; Lifetime Glory Award - Janardhan, Lifetime Achievement Award - Jagathy Sreekumar, Best Actor - Jayaram, Best Actress - Anusree, Youth Icon - Aju Varghese, Popular Movie - Jamna Pyari, Multifaceted Talent - Mukesh for Badai Bungalow, Versatile Comedian - Jagadeesh, Comedy movie - Chandrettan Evideya, Best Director - Siddique, Comedy pair - Vinay Forrt and Soubin Shahir, Best Writer Comical Scene - Shabareesh Varma and Rajesh Murugesan for Premam, Best Comedy Skit - Santhosh, Best Actor (TV) - Kottayam Rasheed for Sthreedhanam, Best Actress (TV) - Kanya Bharathi for Chandanamazha, New face (TV and Film) - Nobi, Comedy Dialogue - Sharaf U Dheen and The Best Presenter - Ramesh Pisharody for Badai Bungalow.

Asianet is the first South Indian channel to have launched an award ceremony for the sole purpose of felicitating the very important role comedy plays in the film and entertainment industry.