Hindi Awards Star Guild Awards 2004

Star Guild Awards held first time in 2004 for honoring the film, and the television achievements. Amit Khanna, a scholar, and a filmmaker, originated it. A gold statuette, designed by Tanishq, is the winning trophy for the award function. The trophy is inspired by the Ajanta and Ellora Caves, one of the richest heritages in the India. Wizcraft International Entertainment Pvt. Ltd. is the producer for the award function. It contains some selected members, who are responsible for the nominations of various awards, and then the entire team of members give their votes. Mumbai was the destination where it took place. They were held at the beginning of the year, May 28. The host for the awards function was Shahrukh Khan.

Sonu Nigam won Best Male Playback Singer for his song “ Kal Ho Naa Ho” while Alka Yagnik won Best Female Playback Singer for her song “Oodhni”. The award function honored Dilip Kumar for his outstanding contribution to Indian Cinema. Koi..Mil Gaya won the most awards of the evening; best special effects, best film, and best director. Munna Bhai M.B.B.S gained Best Editing Award whereas Kal Ho Naa Ho won the Best Cinematography award. Prakash Jha won Best Screenplay for his movie, Gangaajal. Bhoot won the Best Sound Recording award, and Pinjar, the Best Art Director Award.

Best Debut Director Award was shared by three directors, Rajkumar Hirani for Munna Bhai M.B.B.S, Nikhil Advani for Kal Ho Naa Ho, and Chandra Prakash Dwivedi for Pinjar. Jaya Bhaduri Bachchan bagged the Best Actress in a Supporting Role Award for Kal Ho Naa Ho, and Pankaj Kapur bagged the Best Actor in a Supporting Role for Maqbool. Pankaj Kapur also won the Best Actor in a Drama Series for Office Office. Barkha Dutt and Rajdeep Sardesai won the Best News Anchor award. Javed Akhtar bagged the Best Lyrics Award for Kal Ho Naa Ho.

The most important awards for the evening, the Best Actor, and the Best Actress held winners as Hrithik Roshan ( Koi...Mil Gaya), and Urmila Matondkar for Bhoot respectively for their brilliant performance. It honored television people also. Subhash Chandra won Outstanding Contribution to Indian Television Award, and Mona Singh won the Outstanding Debut and the Best Actress in a Drama Series award for Jassi Jaissi Koi Nahin. Jassi Jaissi Koi Nahin made Sony Entertainment Television to win Best Marketing Entertainment Product, and also producers to win the Best Fiction Series award. Ekta Kapoor grabbed the award, Best Production House, for her banner Balaji Telefilms.

Des Mein Niklla Hoga Chand was given the Best Title Song award, and The Adventures of Tenali Raman, the Best Animated Series award. Office Office won the Best Ensemble Cast award and the Best Comedy Series award. Zee Entertainment Enterprises bagged the Best Musical Show award for Sa Re Ga Ma Pa.