Hindi Awards International Indian Film Academy Awards 2011

International Indian Film Academy Awards 2011 Hindi tv-shows on STAR PLUS

The city of Toronto saw the moonlit night of 23rd June at the Rogers Centre, Ricoh Coliseum presenting the platform of the twelfth International Indian Film Academy Awards with its grandeur and sublimity. The pair of the most rollicking hosts, Boman Irani, and Ritesh Deshmukh kept in check the exuberance of the frenzied crowd of the Bollywood fame fanatics in the city of Toronto, Canada. Two cardinal Hollywood personalities were also present to share the limelight of the mega event, namely the Academy Award winners Hilary Swank and Cuba Gooding Jr.

The Hollywood’s Walk of Fame star holder, Hilary Swank greeted the audience saying “Namaste.” Cuba Gooding Jr. also put to light the fact that “In Bollywood, they know how to express so much emotion to their release along with the big musical” and felicitated his desire to work in a Bollywood movie himself. The highlights of the show took the audience through to the paramount hysteria with every further development in the zealous lineup of events. Shah Rukh Khan presented a sequence of signature dances namely, Aamir Khan's most explicit ‘Kya Bolti Tu’, and Salman Khan’s Dabangg single. King Khan marked the close of this delightful act by posing in an archetypical type with his hands opening wide and singing the song ‘Tujhe Dekha Toh Ye Jaana Sanam’.

The Deol family adorned the stage with their spectacular performance. Bobby Deol made his entry dancing to the hits like ‘Duniya Haseeno Ka Mela’ and ‘Tera Rang Balle Balle’ and was later joined by his sibling Sunny Deol and dad Dharmendra. The Debutant award winners Ranveer Singh (for Band Baaja Baaraat) and Sonakshi Sinha (for Dabangg) charged the grand coliseum with their fervent moves. Two tributary performances were also staged by Priyanka Chopra and Sonu Nigam along with Jermaine Jackson.

Some of the greatest luminaries, to wit, the nightingale of Asia, Asha Bhosle for her Lifetime Achievement Award and Michael Jackson, the King of Pop were honored at the grand event. The voter’s choice hit Karan Johar as The Best Director and Shibani Bathija for The Best Story both for the emotional thriller My Name is Khan respectively. The Best Picture award was bagged by Dabangg comedy/thriller. Shah Rukh Khan being declared The Best Actor for the performance in a Principal role for the movie My Name is Khan, received the award by Anil Kapoor and Hilary Swank. Anushka Sharma won the Best Actress award for the role as Shruti Kakkar in the movie Band Baaja Baaraat. Tracing the end of our nervous anticipation, Arjun Rampal swept away The Best Performance Award for the Supporting Role as Prithviraj Pratap in Rajneeti. Prachi Desai was also called upon the stage for the same award in female category as Mumtaz for the movie Once Upon a Time in Mumbai.

The most touching moment of the three-day powerhouse was captured when Sonu Sood broke down after being announced for the role in the movie Dabangg as Chedi Singh and honored the Best Actor in the Negative role. The actor was seen sharing with the audience that his feelings about his late mother and her heartfelt presence with him in this moment of utter contentment. Some special awards were also announced in different categories. The title of Hottest Bollywood Pair was awarded to Ranveer Singh and Anushka Sharma in Band Baaja Baaraat.

Ritesh Deshmukh won the honor for Best Performance in a Comic character for the movie Housefull. Awards in the musical category were credited to Lalit Pandit and Sajid- Wajid for The Best Music in Dabangg, Rahat Fateh Ali Khan as Best Singer (Male) for ‘Tere Mast Mast Do Nain’ and Mamta Sharma as Best Singer (Female) for ‘Munni Badnaam Hui’ in the same. Best Screenplay award was accepted by Abhinav Kashyap and Dilip Shukla, also for Dabangg. IIFA 2011 Lifetime Achievement Award (Male) was dispensed to Dharmendra for his monumental devotion to Indian Cinema. Priyanka Chopra for her outstanding contribution to environmental causes won the IIFA 2011 Green Globe Award.