Hindi Awards International Indian Film Academy Awards 2000

International Indian Film Academy Awards 2000 Hindi tv-shows on STAR PLUS

The Bollywood film industry witnessed the birth of “International Indian Film Academy Awards” in 2000. This award ceremony was organized and held at the luxurious Millennium Dome in London. Hosted by Yukta Mookhey and Anupam Kher, the ceremony was an absolute hit, as millions of people across the world watched it. The combination of a spectacular production, beautifully decorated set, and grand entertainment made it the most remembered award ceremony till date in India. International actors and actresses like Angelina Jolie, Jackie Chan, Thora Birch, Kylie Minogue among many others attended the award function.

The conquerors of “Best Actress” and “Best Actor” were - Aishwarya Rai for Hum Dil De Chuke Sanam, and Sanjay Dutt for Vaastav respectively. Sanjay Leela Bhansali grasped two honors under the Best Movie category and Best Director category for the movie Hum Dil De Chuke Sanam. The honors for “Best Supporting Actor” and “Best Actor in Comic Role” were given to Anil Kapoor, for the movies Taal and Biwi No.1, respectively. Sushmita Sen obtained the award for “Best Supporting Actress” for the movie Biwi No.1. Naseeruddin Shah got “Best Actor in a Negative Role” for Sarfarosh.

A.R Rahman won the “Best Music Direction” award for Taal, and Anand Bakshi got “Best Lyricist” Award for Taal. The awards for “Best Playback Singer (Male)” and “Best Playback Singer (Female)” were given to Udit Narayan and Alka Yagnik respectively. In the category of “Special Awards”, Jackie Chan won the award for “Excellence in International Cinema”. “ Outstanding Achievement in International Cinema” was given to the movie East is East starring Om Puri, and Linda Bassett. “Outstanding Indian Achievement in World Cinema” was awarded to Shekar Kapur.

Several other awards were presented in the category of Technical Awards, in which all the talented, hard-working artists behind the big screen were bestowed with recognition. The ceremony ended with the presentation of “Lifetime Achievement Award” which was bestowed upon the living legend Lata Mangeshkar.