Hindi Awards Indian Television Academy Awards 2002

Hero Honda Indian Television Academy Awards were held at Renaissance Hotel in Powai, Mumbai. The event had guests from television and film industry both. The show was hosted by Shruti Ulfat, Deven Bhojani, Ketki Dave, Simone Singh, Mandira Bedi, Deepak Tijori, Ronit Roy, Dilip Joshi, Aly Khan, Archana Puran Singh, Sajid Khan, and Sudha Chandran. The event was opened by Mahesh Bhatt. Other Film luminaries present included Sanjay Dutt, Udit Narayan, Jatin Lalit, Madhur Bhandarkar, Javed Akhtar, Yash Chopra, Ramesh Sippy, Raveena Tandon, Ajay Devgan, Jackie Shroff, and Anil Kapoor, to name a few.

Many celebrities from television industry were also present. Vasundhara Das and Jasbir Jassi performed at the event. Spoofs were performed by Suraj Thapar, Sanjay Mishra, Sushmita Mukherjee, Ketki Dave, and Rakesh Bedi. The highlight of the event was dance performance by Shiamak Davar and his troupe, along with TV actors like Rupali Ganguly, Nigar Khan, Gurdeep Kohli, and Ishita Arun. Starting with the General Jury Awards, Haqeeqat ( Charudutt Acharya) won the Best teleplay award. Ashwani Dhir won the award of Best Dialogues for Office Office. Now in Europe bagged the Best Title Music award. Best Actor and Best Actress in Comedy went to Pankaj Kapur for Office Office and Supriya Pilgaonkar for Tu Tu Main Main respectively.

Best Serial (Drama) award was given to C.I.D, while Office Office bagged the Best Serial (Comedy) award. Super Selector became the Best Game Quiz Show, whereas Best Mythological/Historical Show went to Aamrapali. Best Actor and Best Actress in Drama went to Mohnish Behl for Sanjivni- A Medical Boom, and Achint Kaur for Dhadkan respectively. Naseeruddin Shah became the Best Anchor (Game/Quiz Show) for Super Selector, whereas Nikhil Chinappa became the Best Anchor (Music/Films Show) for MTV Fresh. Sonali Chander won the Best Anchor (Sports Show) for Sports Tonight, whereas Barkha Dutt won the Best Anchor (News/Current Affairs) for Reality Bites (Omar Gujarat). Khana Khazana bagged the Best Cookery Show award.

Best Children’s Programme went to Cadbury Bournvita Quiz Contest, and Best Mini Series went to Izzat Ka Falooda. Sourabh Narang for Haqeeqat and Rajeev Mehra for Office Office won the Best Director award in Drama and Comedy category respectively. Kuch Yaadein Kuch Baatein received the Best Music & Film Based show, whereas Best Talk/Chat Show went to We The People. Kiran (Umesh Aggarwal) won the Best Interstitials/Filters award. Screen Awards got the Best Television Event award. Coming to Jury Technical awards, Best Editing award went to Aparna Roy/ Anand Kumar for The Year that Shook the World (International Year Ender). Aamrapali won the Best Art Direction, Best Costumes, and Best Cinematography/ Videography awards.

Ramayan won the Best Make Up and Best Audiography awards. Finally coming to Popular awards, Aaj Tak became the Best News Channel. Cezanne Khan and Smriti Irani won the Best Actor and Best Actress award respectively for Kyunki Saas Bhi Kabhi Bahu Thi.. MTV became the Best Music Channel, and ESPN became the Best Sports Channel. Khull Jha Sim Sim received Best Host/ Hostess award. Kyunki Saas Bhi Kabhi Bahu Thi won the Best Serial award. Discovery became the Best Niche Channel.