Hindi Awards Indian Television Academy Awards 2001

Indian Television Academy (ITA) awards 2001 were held at the Renaissance Hotel in Powai, Mumbai. Hero Honda powered the event. The honours provided in the event were totally TV Centric. Smt. Sushma Swaraj, then Minister for I & B was present at the event. Members of Film Fraternity were also present with all the Television stars at the award ceremony. The evening was started with the Symphonious Strains of awesome music on which Russian Ballet Dancers performed. During the performance, they unveiled the Trophy. After that, Kabir Bedi told the audience about significance of Academy, and the Awards. He also provided introduction of all the Jury members. Starting with the General Jury Awards, Justujoo (Ishaan Trivedi, Ashok Patole, and Chaula Shah) won the Best teleplay award.

Reality Bites in Pakistan (broadcasted on NDTV) was given the Best Show Packaging award. Ashwini Dheer won the award of Best Dialogues for Office Office. Milan (Khayyam and Naqsh Lyallpuri) bagged the Best Title Music award. Best Actor and Best Actress in Comedy went to Farooque Sheikh for Ji Mantriji and Archana Puran Singh for Aasman Se Tapki respectively. Best Serial (Drama) award was given to Justujoo, while Ji Mantriji bagged the Best Serial (Comedy) award. Kaun Banega Crorepati became the Best Game Quiz Show, whereas Best Mythological/Historical Show went to The Great Warrior-Chhatrapati Shivrai.

Best Actor and Best Actress in Drama went to Kanwaljeet for Saans and Pallavi Joshi for Justujoo respectively. Amitabh Bachchan became the Best Anchor (Game/Quiz Show) for Kaun Banega Crorepati, whereas Shekhar Suman became the Best Anchor (Music/Films Show) for Movers and Shakers. Sonali Chander won the Best Anchor (Sports Show) for Sports Tonight, whereas Rajat Sharma won the Best Anchor (News/Current Affairs) for Janta Ki Adalat. Khana Khazana bagged the Best Cookery Show award. Best Children’s Programme went to Bournvita Quiz Contest, and Best Mini Series went to Thriller at 10.

Ajai Sinha for Justujoo and Rajeev Mehra for Office Office won the Best Director award in Drama and Comedy category respectively. Biographies- Ek Kalakar Ki Kahani received the Best Music & Film Based show, whereas Best Talk/Chat Show went to We The People. Global Refugee of Sahara won the Best Interstitials/Filters award. Coming to Jury Technical awards, Best Live Coverage for Sports award went to Four Square Challenge & Rafter Cross. The Great Warrior- Chhatrapati Shivrai won the Best Art Direction, Best Costumes, and Best Make Up awards. Ankahee won the Best Cinematography/ Videography.

Best Visual Effects award went to Cinevistaas Limited for Ssshhhh...Koi Hai. IT India Tomorrow (NDTV) bagged the Best Editing award. Finally coming to Popular awards, Aaj Tak became the Best News Channel. Amar Upadhyay and Smriti Irani won the Best Actor and Best Actress award respectively for Kyunki Saas Bhi Kabhi Bahu Thi. Best Actor/ Actress in a Comic Role award was given to Pankaj Kapoor for Office Office. MTV became the Best Music Channel, and Star Sports became the Best Sports Channel. Kaun Banega Crorepati received Best Anchor- Based show award, and its host, Amitabh Bachchan received Best Host/ Hostess award. Harsha Bhogle became the Best Sports Presenter/ Commentator. Star Plus bagged the Best Entertainment Channel award. Kyunki Saas Bhi Kabhi Bahu Thi won the Best Serial and Best Star Cast awards.