Hindi Awards Apsara Film And Television Producers Guild Awards 2014

Apsara Film And Television Producers Guild Awards 2014 Hindi tv-shows on STAR PLUS

This Awards is one of the major award events which had its genesis on May 28, 2004, in Mumbai, India. Since then it has assumed a leading role in recognizing the excellence achieved by the Indian Film and Television through the medium of awards. Today, it is popularly known as The Producers Guild Award. The 9th Renault Star Guild Awards held on 2014 was covered by various radio and television channels and televised by Star Plus. Hosted by Salman Khan, the gala event witnessed some of the biggest name in the industry receiving some prestigious awards.

The biggest sensation of the event which remained in the limelight throughout was the film Bhaag Milkha Bhaag which won numerous big awards including the Best Film Award, and Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra was decorated with the Best Director Award for the same. Binod Pradhan and Prasoon Joshi also bagged the award for Best Cinematography and Best Story respectively. Deepika Padukone for her well proved versatility in acting got the Best Actress award for the Rohit Shetty directed rom-com Chennai Express, and yet again the Film Bhaag Milkha Bhaag’s lead actor Farhan Akhtar for his accurate portrayal of Milkha Singh and his superb acting and dedication for his work was appreciated with the most awaited Best Actor Male award.

The epistolary romantic film The Lunchbox was one of the most critically acclaimed films of the previous year. Nawazuddin Siddiqui defeated strong contenders like Abhay Deol for Raanjhanaa, Arjun Rampal for D-Day and Saurabh Shukla for Jolly LLB and won the award for Best Actor in a Supporting Role category. Ritesh Batra received The Yash Chopra Award for the Most Promising Debut Director for the same film. Diviya Dutta’s performance as Isri Kaur (Milkha Singh’s sister) in the film Bhaag Milkha Bhaag displayed her superior acting skills. She received The Best Actress In A Supporting Role category.

The Best Music Director Category also had tough contestations among films like Goliyon Ki Rasleela Ram-Leela, Aashiqui 2, Raanjhanaa, Bhaag Milkha Bhaag, with musical stalwarts like Shankar-Ehsaan-Loy, Vishal Dadlani, Shekhar Ravjiani, Mithun Sharma, A.R. Rahman, who offered great music to the audience. In this category Pritam Chakraborty emerged victorious for the film Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani. Mithun Sharma won the award for Best Lyrics for the song “Tum HI Ho” from the film Aashiqui 2. Best Playback Female Singer, Bhoomi Trivedi was awarded for “Ram Chahe Leela” from Goliyon Ki Rasleela Ram-Leela.

The Best Male Playback Singer was none other than the Singing sensation Arijit Singh who deservingly bagged the award or the Song “Tum Hi Ho” form the film Aashiqui 2. The year 2013 also saw the advent of some rising superstars of Bollywood. Sushant Singh Rajput won the Best Male Debut award for his dynamic role in the film Kai Po Che! And Vaani Kapoor, Best Female Debut for Shuddh Desi Romance. The film Goliyon Ki Rasleela Ram-Leela produced another winner- Best Performance in a Negative Role: Supriya Pathak.

The night was further illuminated by special performances by Superstars like Shraddha Kapoor, Sonakshi Sinha, Prabhu Deva. In the Special Awards category, there were also some big names in the film industry. Shah Rukh Khan was awarded the Renault Star Guild Entertainer of the Year Award. Aditya Roy Kapoor and Shraddha Kapoor were awarded the Jodi of the Year Award. The Life Time Achievement Award was reserved for Tanuja and Salim Khan. And the Star Verdict of the Year award went to Irrfan Khan for the Film The Lunchbox.