Hindi Awards 57th Filmfare Awards

The 57th Filmfare awards ceremony was hosted by Shah Rukh Khan and Ranbir Kapoor on January 29, 2012. The event was held at Film City, Mumbai. Actress Deepika Padukone had performed on stage with some sizzling dance numbers. It was a year for Ranbir Kapoor, Vidya Balan, Priyanka Chopra, Zoya Akhtar, Imtiaz Ali, Farhan Akhtar who graced the show with maximum awards. Noted musician Pyarelal (Laxmikant –Pyarelal) and yesteryear actress Aruna Irani had won the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Aruna Irani received the trophy from Amitabh Bachchan who was once her co-star in the movie ‘ Bombay To Goa’. Zoya Akhtar’s most famous film ' Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara’ had received 13 nominations and had won only seven awards in the different category. Imtiaz Ali’s musical film ‘ Rockstar’ received nine nominations and had won only five awards. Aamir Khan and Kiran Rao's critically acclaimed film ' Delhi Belly' had received seven nominations and had won three awards only. Ekta Kapoor’s sensational film ‘ The Dirty Picture’ received six nominations and had bagged only three awards. Shah Rukh Khan’s most anticipated film ‘Don-2’ could only manage to win two awards. 'Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara' had won the best film award. Farhan Akhtar and Ritesh Sidhwani received the black lady statue from Filmfare. Zoya Akhtar had won the best director trophy for the same film.

Promising actor Ranbir Kapoor had won the best actor trophy for narrating a pop singer role in the film ‘Rockstar’ and Vidya Balan had won the best actress trophy for portraying the role of Silk Smitha in film ’The Dirty Picture’. The year’s comedy movie 'Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara’ had won for Zoya Akhtar the best film award in ‘critics’ category. Actor Ranbir Kapoor had won ‘critics’ awards for best actor for the movie ‘Rockstar’ and actress Priyanka Chopra had won ‘critics’ awards for best actress for the movie ‘ 7 Khoon Maaf’. The best supporting actor award was given to Farhan Akhtar for his best performance in the film ‘Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara.’

Another controversial film ‘No One Killed Jessica’ had received four nominations at the 57th Filmfare Awards but had won only the Filmfare Award for 'best-supporting-actress' for Rani Mukherjee’s performance. The best male debut of the year went to the actor Vidyut Jamwal for his acting in the film ’Force’ and best female debut award went to actress Parineeti Chopra for acting in Aditya Chopra’s film ‘Ladies vs. Ricky Bahl’. In the technical category, film ‘Rockstar’ dominated the show by winning three awards only in the music category. Noted musician A.R. Rahman had won the best music composer award for his best soundtrack for the film ‘Rockstar.' Singer Mohit Khan, who sang nine songs in the movie, had won the best male playback singer award for the song "Jo Bhi Main" from ‘Rockstar.' The best lyricist award went to Irshad Kamil for the song "Nadaan Parindey" from the same film ‘Rockstar’.

Singer Rekha Bhardwaj and Usha Uthup together had received the female best singer trophy for song "Darling" from film ‘7 Khoon Maaf’. The best screenplay trophy went to Akshat Verma and the best editing award to Huzefa Lokhandwala for same film ‘Delhi Belly’. The best story writer award went to Sanjay Chauhan for the film 'I Am Kalam’. Farhan Akhtar even received the best dialogue writer award for the film 'Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara’.

The film ‘Delhi Belly’ also fetched the best production design award for Shashank Tere. ‘Don -2’ fetched best sound design award for Nakul Kamte and best action award for Matthias Barsch. Carlos Catalan had won the best cinematographer award for film 'Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara' and the best choreography trophy went to Bosco-Caesar for song "Senorita" from ‘Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara’. Niharika Khan bagged the best costume design award for the film 'The Dirty Picture'. Best special effects award went to Shah Rukh Khan’s production house Red Chillies VFX for the film 'Ra. One'. The R. D. Burman trophy went to music composer Krsna for ‘ Tanu Weds Manu’. Best scene of the year award went to film ‘The Dirty Picture’. The best special jury award went to Partho Gupte for the film ‘ Stanley Ka Dabba’.