Hindi Awards 56th National Film Awards

56th National Film Awards Hindi AWARDS on YouTube Channel

The Indian cinema has made a promising contribution to the development of India, many films are nominated for the Oscars. The film industry is being honoured with some special award irrespective of any region. To do the honours The Directorate of India organises the National Film Awards, this year the award show completed its 56 years. On 20th March 2010 in Vigyan Bhavan,New Delhi the 56th National Film Awards took place. The awards are presented to the winners by the hands of our former President, Mrs Pratibha Patil. The films that were nominated are released in the year 2008. All the regional films are included in the award show. A jury was set up to categorise and declare the final winners.

The Dadasaheb Phalke Award was presented to Mr V.K.Murthy as a cinematographer and is honoured with the Swarna Kamla along with the cash prize. In the feature film, maximum category awards are won by a Marathi movie titled ‘Jogwa’. The Best Feature Film award is given to a Bengali movie ‘Antaheen’. Bollywood movie named ‘ Roadside Romeo’ received the award for the Best Animated film. Mr Upendra Limaye won the Best Actor award for his challenging and promising role in the Marathi cinema ‘Jogwa’.

Former Miss World and leading Bollywood beauty Priyanka Chopra won the Best Actress award for her performance in movie ‘ Fashion’. The award for Best Costume Design is rightly presented to designer Neeta Lulla for ‘ Jodha Akbar’. A Manipuri-English movie ‘AFSPA 1958’ bagged the Best Non-feature film award. An English movie titled ‘Trip’ won the best Scientific Film title, the movie showcased the importance of conservation of resources. Elangbam Natasha is accoladed with the best Narration/Voice Over award for the movie‘Sana Keithal’.

Ganesh Anantharaman received the award Best Book on Cinema for his book titled ‘Bollywood Melodies’. The special jury award is jointly given to two films, ‘Children of Pyre (Hindi)’ and ‘Vitthal (Marathi)’ for their success. The regional movies had a different set of awards for Best Feature Films. A Kannada movie ‘Vimukti’ received the award for the Best Feature Film in Kannada. The same award is presented to best movies in many languages like Assamese, Hindi, Bengali, Marathi, Tamil and Telegu. The Best Critic Award is given to Mr Altaf Mazid, an English and Assamese critic for his prominent critics on those regional films. Along with him, the Best Critic Award was also given to Mr R.K Bidur Singh for his fair critics on Manipuri films.