Hindi Awards 55th Filmfare Awards

55th Filmfare Award Hindi tv-shows on YouTube Channel

The 55th Filmfare Awards ceremony was held at Yash Raj Studios in Mumbai on February 27, 2010. Actor Shah Rukh Khan and Saif Ali Khan again turned into hosts for this ceremony. R. Balki's critically acclaimed film 'Paa' fetched for Amitabh Bachchan best actor award and for Vidya Balan the best actress award. Vidhu Vinod Chopra won the best film award for the comedy flick '3 Idiots'. Rajkumar Hirani won the best director award of the year. Boman Irani won the best supporting actor for '3-Idiots' and Kalki Koechlin won the best-supporting-actress for film ‘Dev.D’. In the technical category, Abhijat Joshi, Rajkumar Hirani had won the best story writer award for '3-idiots'and the best screenplay award went to Rajkumar Hirani, Vidhu Vinod Chopra and Abhijat Joshi for film ‘3-Idiots’.

Nandita Das who made debut as a director with film 'Firaaq' had won four awards. It was the best movie as per category of critics’ award. A special award was given to Nandita Das. The best editing award went to A. Sreekar Prasad, best sound design award went to Manas Chaudhury and best costume design award went to Vaishali Menon for ‘Firaaq’. Music composer Khayyam and actor Shashi Kapoor won the Filmfare Lifetime Achievement award. From this year, a special male and female debut director trophy too was included. The best male debut director award of the year went to Ayan Mukerjee for the film 'Wake Up Sid' and best female debut director award went to Zoya Akhtar for the film 'Luck By Chance'.

Music composer, singer, and lyricist Amit Trivedi had won the R.D. Burman award. A. R. Rahman had won the best music composer trophy for the film 'Delhi-6' . In addition, singer Mohit Chauhan had won the best male playback singer for the song "Masakali" and Rekha Bhardwaj had won the best female playback singer for the song “Genda Phool" from ‘Delhi-6’. Another female singer Kavita Seth too won the female playback singer trophy for the song "Iktara" from ‘Wake Up Sid’. Ranbir Kapoor won the critics’ award for his performance in three films such as ‘wake Up Sid’, 'Ajab Prem Ki Ghazab Kahani' and 'Rocket Singh: Salesman of the Year' etc.

Actress Mahi Gill won critics' awards for her role in 'Dev.D'. Amit Trivedi also won the best background score for 'Dev.D'. 'Best Production Design' award went to Helen Jones and Sukanta Panigrahi for the film ‘Dev.D’. The best action award was given to Vijayan Master for the blockbuster film ‘Wanted’. Another blockbuster movie ‘Kaminey’ fetched best special effects trophy for Govardhan Vigharan and Vinay Singh Chuphal.