Hindi Awards 52nd National Film Awards

52nd National Film Awards Hindi AWARDS on YouTube Channel

The National Film Awards is awarded for excellence in cinematic achievements for the Indian cinema, is one of the most reputed and prestigious awards in India. Established in the year of 1954 it is one of the oldest film events of the country. The main motto of the show is to award and reward quality, significant and ground-breaking movies annually and encourage film producers and directors to engage in developing films of high calibre. The awards are acknowledged into three parts that are Best Writing on Cinema, Feature Films and Non-Feature Films, each of which has two subcategories: the Golden Lotus Award and the Silver Lotus Award.

The 52nd National Film Awards was held on 21st October 2005 in Vigyan Bhawan, New Delhi. The awards were given by Dr Avul Pakir Jainulabdeen Abdul Kalam, President of India who was also an author and an aerospace scientist. The awards were presented by the Directorate of Film Festivals. Some of the most significant and esteemed awards of the year are listed as follows. In the Feature Films Section headed by filmmaker Sudhir Mishra, the Best Feature film was given to the Hindi Movie Page 3 produced by Bobby Pushkarna and directed by Madhur Bhandarkar. It was also the most awarded movie as it received the Best Screenplay Award for Manoj Tyagi and Nina Arora’s performance as well as the Best Editing Award for Suresh Pai’s work.

The Best Debut Film of a Director Award was given to a Telugu film Grahanam produced by N. Anji Reddy and directed by Mohan Krishna Indraganti. Two films: Veer-Zaara produced by Yash Raj Films and directed by Yash Chopra and ‘ Autograph’ produced and directed by Cheran won the Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment Award. Chutkan Ki Mahabharat produced by Children’s Film Society and directed by Sankalp Meshram took the Best Children’s Film award. Buddhadeb Dasgupta won the Best Director Award for his Bengali Film Swapner Din.

In the Non-Feature Film section headed by Director and Cinematographer A. K. Bir, The Best Non-Feature Film, was a Marathi film called Girni produced by Tripurari Sharan and directed by Umesh Vinayak Kulkarni who also won the Best Non-Feature Film Direction Award for the same film. In the Best Writing on Cinema section headed by veteran film critic Rauf Ahmed the Best Book on Cinema was Stardust- Vignettes from the Fringes of Film Industry authored by Roopa Swaminathan and published by Penguin Books.

The Best Film Critic was Namrata Joshi. However, a large number of awards which were not distributed  this year such as Best Arts/Cultural Film, the Best Feature Film in Manipuri, Best Feature Film in Oriya, Best Historical Reconstruction Film, Best Educational Film, Best Motivational Film, Best Instructional Film, Best Promotional Film and Best Agricultural Film because a suitable or deserving film was not found to be awarded.