Hindi Awards 50th Filmfare Awards

50th Filmfare Award Hindi tv-shows on YouTube Channel

The 50th Filmfare Awards ceremony was held in Mumbai on 26 February 2005. It was also considered to be the golden jubilee year for the organizer committee and Filmfare converted its ‘Black Lady Statue’ in gold. The organizer also announced a special award for the ‘Best Film of 50 Years which was given to Ramesh Sippy’s magnum opus ‘Sholay.’ Yesteryear actor and superstar Rajesh Khanna received the Lifetime Achievement trophy for his long association with Indian cinema. Yash Chopra’s ‘Veer Zaara’ had won the best film of the year award. Actor Shah Rukh Khan had won the best actor trophy for his sensitive performance as Mohan Bhargava in film ‘Swades’.

Actress Rani Mukherjee was given the trophy for the best actress for her performance in film ‘Hum Tum’. Rani Mukherjee also received the best supporting- actress trophy for her role in film ‘Yuva’ and Abhishek Bachchan received his first best-supporting-actor trophy for the film ‘Yuva’. It was not known if Saif Ali Khan’s role in film ‘Hum Tum’ really deserved the ‘comedy actor’ award for him because it was a role for which Saif got a national award in the same year. Music composer Anu Malik won the best music director trophy for film ‘Hum Tum’ and R.D. Burman award trophy was given to Hindi and Kannada singer Kunal Ganjawala who became popular with the film ‘Murder’ song 'Bheege Honth Tere".

Actress Priyanka Chopra really deserved the best villain role for the film ‘Aitraaz’. She played a vamp character as Sonia Roy in the film. Best story and best dialogue award went to Aditya Chopra for his work in the film 'Veer Zaara'. Kunal Kohli received the best director trophy for Aditya Chopra’s film ‘Hum Tum’ and Mani Ratnam got the best screenplay award for the film ‘Yuva’. Govind Nihalani's film 'Dev' and Mani Ratnam's film 'Yuva' shared the best critics film trophy separately. Kareena Kapoor won the best critics award for a female category for film ‘Deva’ and Pankaj Kapoor won the best critics award in the male category for film ‘Maqbool’.

Ayesha Takia had won the best female debut award for her role in film ' Taarzan: The Wonder Car’. Blockbuster movie ‘Dhoom’ won the best editing award for Rameshwar S. Bhagat and best sound design award for Dwarak Warrier. Farhan Akhtar's film 'Lakshya' won the best cinematographer award for Christopher Popp and best choreographer award for Prabhu Deva. A.R. Rahman won the best background score for film ‘Swades’. Mani Ratnam’s film ‘Yuva’ bagged the best art direction award for Sabu Cyril and best action award for Vikram Dharma.