Hindi Awards 23rd Filmfare Awards

23rd Filmfare Award Hindi tv-shows on YouTube Channel

The 23rd Filmfare Awards were held in Mumbai on March 30, 1976. Yash Chopra’s blockbuster movie ‘ Deewar’ swept the award winning ceremony with as many as 7 awards in the different category. Films like ‘ Aandhi’, ‘Julie’ and ‘Amanush’ received few awards. Gulzar’s ‘Aandhi’ had won best film award (critics category) and Sanjeev Kumar won the best actor award for his sensitive performance in the same film ‘Aandhi’. It is sad that R.D. Burman could not win the best music director trophy for ‘Aandhi’.

Film director K. S. Sethumadhavan’s film ‘Julie’ bagged four awards in the ceremony. Actress Lakshmi and actress Nadira went to receive the best actress and supporting actress award. Music composer Rajesh Roshan won the best composer award and singer Preeti Sagar received best female singer award for ‘Julie’. Film ‘Amanush’ fetched best male singer award to Kishore Kumar and best lyricist award for Indeevar for same song ‘Dil Aisa Kisi’.

The most successful film of the year ‘Deewar’ was considered the best film and the award trophy went to film producer Gulshan Rai. Yash Chopra got the best director award. Salim-Javed received the best screenplay, best story and best dialogue trophy from Filmfare. Shashi Kapoor too received best supporting actor trophy and M. A. Shaikh got best sound award trophy for ‘Deewar’. Another successful film ‘ Sholay’ got maximum 9 nominations in the different category but had won only one award for M. S. Shinde for editing.

Feroz Khan’s blockbuster movie ‘Dharmatama’ won the best cinematography award for Kamal Bose. Bansi Chandragupta had won the best art director award for film 'Do Jhoot'. Deven Verma received best comic actor award for the movie ' Chori Mera Kaam'.