Hindi Awards 17th Filmfare Awards

17th Filmfare Award Hindi tv-shows on YouTube Channel

The 17th Filmfare award was held in 1970. It was the most memorable year for Rajesh Khanna and Sharmila Tagore for their sensitive performance in film ‘ Aradhana’. But it was Hrishikesh Mukherjee's film ‘Anokhi Raat’ that swept the ceremony by bagging four awards in different category such as best screenplay award for Hrishikesh Mukherjee, best art direction (black & white) for Ajit Bannerjee, best cinematographer award (black & white) for Kamal Bose and best dialogue writer for Anand Kumar.

Shakti Samanta’s ‘Aradhana’ got the best movie award, the best actress award for Sharmila Tagore and best playback singer award for Kishore Kumar for song ‘Roop Tera Mastana’. Although Lata Mangeshkar deserved an award for her songs in ‘Aradhana’, she only received Filmfare's best singer award for a title song in a movie ‘Jeene Ki Raah’. The disappointing factor was the music composer S.D. Burman, who did not win the best composer award for 'Aradhana'.

The best music director award went to Laxmikant- Pyarelal for their musical composition in film ‘Jeene Ki Raah’. The best actor award went to Ashok Kumar for his sensitive performance in Hrishikesh Mukherjee’s film 'Aashirwad'. It was actually the year for Bengali film personalities like Hrishikesh Mukherjee, Shakti Samanta, Sharmila Tagore, Kishore Kumar, Tanuja and Ashok Kumar who dominated the award show. Tanuja received the best supporting actress award for ‘Paisa Ya Pyar’ while eminent actor Pran received the best supporting actor for his sensitive performance in a film ‘Aansoo Ban Gaye Phool’.

Satyen Bose’s classic film ‘Aansoo Ban Gaye Phool’ received the best story award for Vasant Kanetkar. The best comedian actor went to Mehmood for his performance in film ‘Waris’. B.R. Chopra’s ‘ Ittefaq’ fetched best director award for Yash Chopra and the film also bagged another award for sound recordist M A Shaik. The best cinematographer (color) award went to Faredoon A. Irani for film ‘ Duniya’. The best art director award (color) went to A. Kakkad for his work in a film ‘ Tamanna’.