Hindi Awards 16th Star Screen Awards

The Star Screen Awards were started in the year 1995 and had become quite popular among the Bollywood stars. The judging panel consists of eminent personalities from the film fraternity. Also known as the 16th Nokia Star Screen Awards, these awards were held on 9th of January 2010, and the venue for the ceremony was MMRDA (Mumbai Metropolitan Region Development Authority) grounds. KarishmaTanna and Mantra hosted the red carpet event. Shah Rukh Khan, Kareena Kapoor, the Bachchans, Celina Jaitley, Dia Mirza, BipashaBasu, Salman Khan, Alka Yagnik were among the various A-listers of Bollywood that walked the red carpet.

Kareena Kapoor, Shahid Kapoor, BipashaBasu, Katrina Kaif, Salman Khan were among the many stars who performed on the all dazzled up the stage. The performances were full of drama and energy.Shahid Kapoor and Shah Rukh Khan hosted the evening. The duo kept everyone engaged with their peppy conversation on stage. Imtiaz Ali won the award for the best story for Love Aaj Kal. Shah Rukh Khan and Kajol won the award for the Best Jodi (decade). The Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Javed Akhtar. Amitabh and Abhishek Bachchan won the award for the best Jodi(star plus) for Paa. Katrina Kaif won the best Entertainer of the year award. The movie Luck By Chance won the best cast award.

Nandita Das won the award for the best Debut Director. Omi Vaidya and Mahie Gill won the best Debut awards in the male and female category respectively. Vijayan Master won the best action award for wanted. Bosco Caesar won the best choreography award for Zoobi Doobi (3 idiots). Rajeev Ravi won the best cinematography award for Dev D. Best Special Effects award was presented to Charles Darby for Aladin. Rajkumar Hirani and Abhijat Joshi won the award for best dialogue for 3 Idiots. And Rajkumar Hirani also won the award for best editing for 3 Idiots. Rajkumar Hirani, Vidhu Vinod Chopra, and Abhijaat Joshi also won The award for the best screenplay was given to Rajkumar Hirani, Abhijaat Joshi, and Vidhu Vinod Chopra for 3 Idiots. The award for the best lyrics was given to Irshad Kamil for Chor Bazaari.

The best playback singer(male) award was won by Rahat Fateh Ali Khan, and best playback singer (female) was won by Kavita Seth. Like the previous years, this year also AR Rahman bagged the best music award. Pratik Katare won the best child actor award for his work in the movie Paa. Omi Vaidya also won the award for the best actor in a comic role. The award for the best actor in a negative role was won by Boman Irani for 3 Idiots. The best actor in a supporting role was given to Rishi Kapoor for Love Aaj Kal, and Arundhati Naag won the best actress in a supporting role award for Paa.

Kareena Kapoor won the best actress (popular) award for 3 Idiots and Kurbaan while Shahid Kapoor won the best actor (popular) for Kaminey. The best actress(critics) award was presented to Vidya Balan for Paa, and Amitabh Bachchan bagged the best actor(critics) award for Paa. The best director award was conferred to Rajkumar Hirani for 3 Idiots. 3 Idiots also won the best film award.