Hindi Awards 16th Filmfare Awards

16th Filmfare Award Hindi tv-shows on YouTube Channel

The 16th Filmfare Awards was held in the year 1969. It was a year of commercial and masala movies that swept the maximum Filmfare awards. The greatest loser was a simple film like ‘ Saraswatichandra’ that could not even get a nomination for the best music composer. The successful movie of the year ‘ Brahmachari’ swept the maximum awards. Actor Shammi Kapoor was considered the best actor for his role in ‘Brahmachari.' Bhappi Sonie's ‘Brahmachari’ also got five different awards in various category which include, best movie award, best male singer award for Mohammed Rafi for song ‘Dil Ke Jharoke Mein’, best Lyricist award for Shailendra for the song "Main Gaoon Tum So Jao”, and best music director for composer Shankar Jaikishan.

Actress Waheeda Rehman got her second best actress award for her sensitive portrayal of a suffering wife in film ‘Neel Kamal’ and Simi Garewal won the best-supporting actress for her role of a suffering second wife in film ‘Saathi’. Actor Sanjeev Kumar bagged his first supporting actor award for his role in a masala movie ‘Shikar’. The film ‘Shikar’ also fetched award for singer Asha Bhosle for her melodious song ‘Parde Main Rehne Do’. Actor Johnny Walker received the best comedian award for his role in movie ‘Shikar’. Hrishikesh Mukherjee’s sensitive film like ‘Majhli Didi’ could only bag two awards such as best screenplay for Nabendu Ghosh and best art director award (black and white) for Ajit Bandyopadhyay.

The film ‘Saathi’ also fetched best editing award for N. M. Shankar. Sachin Bhowmick got the best story writer award for film ‘Brahmachari’. The top grosser movie ‘ Aankhen’ got the best director award for Ramanand Sagar and best cinematography award (color category) for G. Singh. The film ‘Saraswatichandra’ got two awards. One for best cinematography (black and white) for Nariman A. Irani and best dialogue for S. Ali Raza. Music composer Kalyanji Anandji could not win any award although he received a national best music composer award for film ‘Saraswatichandra’.