Hindi Awards 14th Star Screen Awards

14Th Star Screen Awards Hindi tv-shows on STAR PLUS

The Star Screen Awards, first started in 1995, are an annual awards ceremony held in India. The selecting jury consists of distinguished personalities from the industry. Mr. ViveckGoenka, chairman of The Express Group, initiated these awards. Nokia was the sponsor for the 14th Star Screen Awards. The ceremony was held on 10th January in Mumbai. Stars like Amitabh Bachchan, Shah Rukh Khan, Chunky Pandey, Katrina Kaif and others dazzled on the red carpet. The stars seemed high on energy for the award night. The Star Screen Awards have always been a favorite among the stars.

Sajid Khan and Shreyas Talpade were the hosts for the night and kept everyone engaged with their jokes and quirky one-liners. The famous stand-up comedian Raju Srivastava also entertained the audience. The star-studded performances of Katrina Kaif, Shah Rukh Khan, and others bedazzled everyone. The awards were both in the category of popular by audience’s choice and also by the critics choice. Farah Khan won the award for best choreography for the movie Om Shanti Om. Amol Gupte won the award for Taare Zameen Par in the category of the best dialogue as well as the best story.

The award for the best screenplay was accorded to Anurag Basu. The Lifetime Achievement award was conferred to Manoj Kumar for his unfathomable contribution to the Indian cinema. The award for best actor(male) was given to Amitabh Bachchan and best actor(female) to Tabu in the critics category. Darsheel Safari won the best child actor award for his role of Ishaan, a dyslexic boy in Taare Zameen Par. The award for the best lyricist was given to Prasoon Joshi for the movie Taare Zameen Par. Deepika Padukone and Shah Rukh Khan won the best Jodi award for the movie Om Shanti Om.

Ranbir Kapoor and Deepika Padukone bagged the award for the most promising newcomer(male) and most promising newcomer (female) respectively. The award for the best playback singer(male) was given to Soham Chakraborty for ‘In Dino’ and the award for the best playback singer in the female category was awarded to Shreya Ghoshal for ‘Barson Re’. The best music direction award was presented to AR Rahman for the movie Guru. The award for best actor in the negative role was awarded to Pankaj Kapoor for the movie The Blue Umbrella. The award for the best actor in a comic role was given to Irrfan Khan.

The award for the best supporting actor(male) was given to Aamir Khan and the award for the best supporting actor(female) award category was won by the Chak De girls. The best actor award was won by Shah Rukh Khan for the movie Chak De India and the award for the best actress was given to Kareena Kapoor for the movie Jab We Met.The best director award was shared by Shimit Amin and Aamir Khan for the movie Chak De India and Taare Zameen Par respectively. And last but not the least the Best Film award was taken by Chak De India.