Hindi Awards 11th National Film Awards


The National Awards for the film were given to the awardee to appreciate the contribution of the people in every field of the cinema. The 11th National Award was held at Delhi. To give the honour of this award for the movies those were released in the year 1963. The ceremony was organised on 25 April 1964. The President of India Dr Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan felicitated the winner of 11th National Film Awards. Every year Ministry of Information and, Broadcasting took this responsibility of organisation of the event.

In the 11th National Awards, some new awards were introduced in the category of the Best Educational film. Earlier, only the first position was given but, from this time there was a second as well as third position for this category. The Best Feature Film Award was won by the Shehar Aur Sapna Hindi movie. Khwaja Ahmad Abbas and, Naya Sansar was the producer while; Khwaja Ahmad Abbas played the role of director as well. The second feature film was Nartansala. It was a Telugu cinema which was produced and, directed by C.Lakshmi Rajyam and, K.Kameshwara Rao respectively. The third award was received by the Bengali film Mahanagar.

The production was given by the D.Bansal while; ' Satyajit Ray' was the director. Apart from these awards, Best Children Film was also given to appreciate the work done for the children. The winner of this award was a Hindi movie Panch Puthliyan. Amit Bose had given the direction for this script. The regional languages awards were given for the cinema. The Best Feature Film for the Assamese language went to Maniram Devan while; for the Bengali language, it was won by the Uttar Falguni. The second position in the Bengali category was received by the Saat Paake Bandha and, the third award went to JuGriha. In the Gujarati, Jeff Chhun Levi got the honour of Best Feature Film. In Hindi, Bandini was the winner while; second and, the third position made by Mere Mehboob and, Gumrah respectively.

The Sant Tukaram was the winner of the Best Feature Film in the Kannada and, the second position received by the Mangala Muhurta. The Best Feature Film in Malayalam, Marathi, Odia, Tamil, Telugu were Ninamaninja Kalpadukal, Ha Majha Marg Ekla, Jeevan Sathi,Naanum Oru Pen and, Lava Kusha respectively. The Best Documentary Film award got to a song of the Snow. It was the English film. The Indian Ocean Expedition received the award for the Best Educational Film. It was a Hindi script. In this year, Best Feature Film in Punjabi and, Best Filmstrip Award was not given.